Far Cry 4 Cryptocurrency Easter Egg That Is SO Wrong

in #gaming7 years ago

Few days back I was playing a game called Far Cry 4 when I found this item called "Cryptocurrency Drive" worth ₭ 34,000. It instantly got my attention as I myself have a keen interest in cryptocurrencies as you can imagine.

The reason I decided to share this with you all is a description of this hard drive. It is as follows:

The label on this ruggedized hard drive indicates that it contains a large amount of virtual currency. Sell it before the market collapses.

cryptocurrency drive rupees.png

Well, well, well... Let's dig into this for a bit. Just for fun, eh?

So, the game was released on November 14th, 2014. At that time Bitcoin price was 412.84 $ (according to coindesk.com BPI). As I mentioned before, this hard drive's worth is estimated at ₭ 34,000. Knowing this game takes place in a fictional Himalayan country, located near Nepal in the Himalayas, a quick research revealed that this currency definitely represents Indian rupees. So I calculated how much this hard drive costs and that's 499.894 US dollars (calculated with today's rates).

Sell it before the market collapses, you say? :)

It's nice that game developers include such easter eggs, but they clearly don't see Bitcoin as a long term investment. And I am pretty sure they had Bitcoin and not some Altcoin in mind considering that Bitcoin price dropped drastically from 2013. Maybe they thought Bitcoin is done by that time.

Sadly, time in games flows differently, so I had to sell it. And that was the first time I didn't want to sell my trash. It hurt a little bit, but whatever.

Made some rupees though.


You can PM me in SteemitChat @vilius whenever you want and if you like my content, feel free to follow, resteem or leave an upvote.

Check out my other stories:

Pomoting Steemit In Other Communities! Scooch Over, Forbes
Diary Entry: Why Be Sad When You Can Observe Sadness Instead?
My Introduction Part II: How I Became Cryptocurrency Entrepreneur