Influence of Video Games: As A Grown-Up, I Miss Gaming (Part II)

in #gaming6 years ago

I grew up with video games, like most of the millennials. Now I miss it a lot because on my way to adulthood it wasn't so easy to find time for playing or money for good enough gear to try out some amazing titles. Not only that, when I was a child, it seemed more mythical. Games motivated me, inspired me, and gave me wisdom and knowledge about certain topics like history, strategy, storytelling, or even relationships with other people.

But suddenly, you’re 26 years old and you’re not getting impressed that easily. You start noticing details and imperfections that bother you. You carry enough baggage and experience to evaluate and compare games, but not enough time and patience to enjoy them. You become much more selective about your choices, because you don't want to and can’t waste time and energy on something you’re not able to enjoy.

Nonetheless, I can’t let it go. Even if I’m not a hardcore player anymore, or don’t have a decent computer to enjoy these grand games, I still try and find time to relax or challenge myself in front of a screen. Much less than before, but passion is still there, even though it’s very simple and chill like I’m married for 50 years. There’s still love, but just a bit different, slower and more mature.

In time, I learned to appreciate this slow gaming pace, though I wish I were a child again so I could just spend my summers without a care in front of my Sega Genesis or PC. Actually, I talked about that in my older post called Influence of Video Games: Precious Experiences (Part I), if you feel like checking it out.

For those who feel the same way, I suggest you try games that challenge your mind instead of your reflexes. Personally, I really enjoy titles like Hearthstone or The Elder Scrolls: Legends. Those are well crafted online card games for every type of player. If you want to game a friendly match, you got it. If you want a challenge of climbing the ranks, you can do that. You want the arena, no problem. Even if you want to go solo and have some fun playing against smartass AI, you are more than welcome.

Speaking of Hearthstone, I'm amazed by their recent solo adventures that are completely brilliant and, most important, free of charge, no questions asked. They are so different in gameplay and so beautifully made it's incredible. What is even more incredible is inexhaustible replay value. And you don’t have to spend a single dime for 100-200 hour quality content that relentlessly keeps your mind sharp and focused. I guess they earn enough money from those who want to build expensive decks and go pro.

Hearthstone Screenshot 09-12-18 23.13.57.png Free content options in Hearthstone

I also mentioned The Elder Scrolls: Legends. Can’t say a lot about it, because it’s been awhile since I logged in, but the last time I’ve played it I was pleasantly surprised. The game had different, never seen before mechanics that involve two separate lanes for battling, it was well balanced and had its own well-crafted lore about The Forgotten Hero who pretended to be an Emperor in order to lead The Imperial Army to victory. And you get to be that Forgotten Hero. I doubt the lore is canon in The Elder Scrolls universe, but it is still cool.

Maybe it is worth checking out. As far as I know they have some new content by now.

84229_2_0.jpg The Elder Scrolls: Legends gameplay, source

Anyway, for all the grown-ups around the world – don’t be sad if you’re feeling like losing your passion. Maybe you just need to change your pace and style a little bit. If so, I hope my suggestions help.