How Much Would You Pay For A Gaming Netflix Service?

in #gaming6 years ago

So this is the talk when it comes to discussing the next gen consoles. Why make a PS5 or Xbox (fill in the name) when we can just get a streaming service like Netflix. Think about it. No need for a console. All you would have is a controller under you television that you pick up and you ready to go. It would give you space and you would have access to a selection of games that really few of us do now. How sweet would that be? But what would the cost be that would be reasonable? Would you pay $10, $20, or even $50 for a service? Would it be worth it?

Lets talk about the benefits that you would have over traditional gaming. One would be multiplayer with a longer selection of players. No longer would you need to have the same system that your friends have. This has always been a hurdle in the online space as you are not playing with the best but the best on that system and when a game is not that popular you might trouble finding a good match-up. There is the selection which is a big plus and the ability to try games out for a day or two. This might not sound like a big deal but when games cost $80 today, there is no way to just try it out to see if it something you would like without paying.

So when it comes to price you have to factor all the advantages you are getting plus the costs to the developers. They would be losing money on DLC, multi-console releases and special additions. That can really add up. You can argue with the price of a new title, paying 50 plus would be a steal as you are not paying 80 and can play everything that comes out. But personally I think my limit for such a service would be $25. Maybe I am spoiled with the cost of Netflix but 25 feels like a good price.

But that is me. What matters are what people are willing to pay for it if such a thing was going to take off. So what would you pay for it?

game-1926907_1280.png

Sort:  

To be honest there was project for that first off it was ONlive then PS bought it and do it as PS Now service. But the problem with streaming games is not about device power but the time, internet speed ect.
You can watch on netflix movies and there is no problem with that, but when you play games, especially fast action ones there is a BIG problem about command responsiveness - In easy way;

When you press button is TOO mach to waiting to see action to response to your action. So it's happen that you wait even one second! to see response if you are to far away from serer and even if you had a server in your house there still we a problem with internet and sending and receiving data.

If you will play online game like CS:GO it can go worse because you need fast reaction and precision.

That's why right know your technology and even PS5 dosn't have solution to problem off that.

Oh yeah latency would kill the online games. I wonder if they are working on a cloud service now that can handle it for the average household.

I use steam link to play games on my couch tv, But i have cable lan to conect steamlink and my pc. so yes to stream games over the internet its very usefull have a good speed

Have two revenue models. One free version. This brings in the users in big numbers which can then be monitised using ad revenue. Once u have a captive audience on your platform they can upsold to paid packages for an Ad free experience. Any big platform needs massive user base and needs to grow fast before a competitor also grows the idea. Free with Ads would be needed.

That's a good idea but I can't see a free version, maybe a month trial. And definitely free from ads.

Hmmnn, youre damn right that has a lot of advantages, i mean i could just be anywhere that has a good tv with internet connection and boom im on my game..cool. but wont that be so cost effective because how many 25$ do i have to pay to get on netflix, compared to how many 25$ i have to compile to get the console...that price wont do for me

If you suggest that you give a nice suggestion, then everyone will pray for you

Haha, I think in terms of gaming I am absolutely old-school. With some exceptions, often I buy games only going after my feeling without having read external gaming tests or having given other players' evaluation any power in my decision-making.

Having said that, I am absolutely not an online gamer because the shift from offline to online entails the shift from 'Doing what I like to do (equipment, weapons etc..) to 'Doing what I should do in order to win'. I am definitely not the kind of gamer who wants to be as strong and unbeatable as possible, but find my own unique style depending on how I feel to express myself, which does not necessarily incorporate the best weapons or armor. With this attitude, I am not made for online gaming at all :)

Moreover, I am still very puerile in that I LOVE holding the game package in my hand and read the back of the box. :)

So most probably, I belong to the group which wouldn't even notice ever that there is such a service like a 'gaming Netflix service' should there ever be one. :)

About 100$

i dont have much thats why :D

This post has received a 15.63 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @whatageek.

It is great to have Netflix paying some amount of money to play the heavy graphics game without having a heavy GPU for your system which would cost more than 500$'s...

You got a 36.54% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @whatageek!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I would say I might pay...OVER9000.gif

If the game is a stand-alone version in 10 yuan can consider price, if it is connected to the Internet multiplayer in 50 yuan can buy, the price of this is some of my personal views.

I'd rather not... Not all people have internet strong enough to stream their games, in my case it'll cost a huge amount of money to stream one hour (not counting the actual service cost)

The normal internet we use in my country/region (Libya) isn't powerful enough and the new 4G we finally got is very expensive!!

But I can imagine it be good direction in the future when everything becomes cloud based. I'll never want it to be the only way to play because there will always be people who can't run these and because companies would have to shut down the games that aren't profitable.

I have a pc and a laptop at home and have tried to use the steam streaming service a couple of times but the latency on my games was still pretty bad even though i have 150MBs upload and download witch usualy is enough for most gaming needs so is it even possible to achieve a large enough bandwith to have a decent latency on such a service?

(Sorry if i write unusual, its my first post on the site)

Honestly, for me atleast if I had the choice it just wouldn't be worth it unless it was very cheap.
As someone who works a lot, but still wants to game as much as I used to paying a monthly service would feel like a burden if you don't get your moneys worth each month. I tend to just play Rainbow Six Siege on my PC and then only buy games when they go on sale (Humble Indie Bundle, Steam Sale, etc.) and then play games on PS4 with my girlfriend for a few games.

The idea of making competition with the traditional "console war" format would be very hard since it would either need to be another Console (Think OUYA) or it would just be a PC with a GUI for the app. With this though you lose access to console exclusives and controller specific games like Rock Band/DDR/Nintendo games pretty much in general.

Overall, it would be cool, but it could thrive better if it was for each console individually otherwise its just a downloadable version of GameFly and Blockbuster/Hollywood Video/Etc.