You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Can We Get More Game Developers on Steemit?

in #gaming6 years ago

OK @jrmiller - What languages do you work in? I have a 2-player-game project that I've had problems implementing beyond the first draft. My programming chops are not quite up to the task. Basically, I'm needing a Monte Carlo simulation of a dice game that I've invented. I've done a proof-of-concept in Ruby, however I'd like to translate to Unity.

The real meatspace game is built on the idea that each player picks a character for a gladiator fight with special powers. There is a player choice round where they select special offensive or defensive dice depending on their current status. Offense selects one style of combat after looking at the selections, and then both players roll dice. The dice do damage, block damage, chain to other combos, and other funky powers.

Right now, the random-AI-bot picks the same basic character. Each character has a set funky powers that fire off at particular times. The next iteration would be nice if it was random character versus random character. This is where I got bogged down.

Then if that is working. I'd like to use that for data crunching. Can I tweak a certain fight power to make it a little more strong, and tweak the character's hit points down to compensate? I'd like to make the characters interesting with different play styles, so I'd like to be able to tweak the numbers, even if I just dive into the code myself and change "character.HP := 10" to "character.HP := 8".

Then if that works, maybe go from the random selection bot, to make a learning AI that will look at previous similar positions and come up with a better-than-random move.

I really don't think the first couple of iterations should be that complex. Indeed, I made the first draft in Ruby, and I wasn't incredibly Ruby literate. I just wanted something and made it. So there is definitely workable pseudocode that you can build from, even if you don't use Ruby.

Hell, I'd be willing to pay, real money, or fairy-dust cryptocurrency, or even both! :-D Please let me know your thoughts.

Sort:  

I've written code in Ruby, PHP, JavaScript, C#, Python....I've got experience in quite a few languages, while I wouldn't say i'm an expert though.

Is this something that you'd might be interested in? If not - no biggie. If so, I'm in the market for someone.