Saturday Garden Of The Goats

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

My plan was to do a walk through vlog. I tried. Be happy I'm not posting! There was more footage of my nose and neck than what I was trying to capture! Ha ha ha I guess I'll need to practice. But I did get some pictures!

@goatgarden has been gone to a conference this week, and today is his first full day back home. I'm happy, but I don't know if the kids are. They've had to mow, and are now moving pallets (that had previously served as our chicken yard fence) from the chicken yard to the barn. @goatgarden has been working in the gardens. We did have a slow moving, coffee drinking, outside on the deck morning. It's been super hot and humid all week, but the weather broke yesterday. It was only 66 degrees this morning! It's only 79 F as I write this. Perfect summer weather.

Ready for pictures?
20170729_150747-1.jpg

@goatgarden brought this up to the house. Have you seen purple carrots before?
And after he brought these turnips, tomatoes and carrots up, he brought up some potatoes. He says he found them by accident when weeding. Yay for surprises!

20170729_145326.jpg

This is a patch of sweet potatoes. The deer had eaten a lot of the leaves, so @goatgarden and the middle daughter put up t posts and fishing line to deter the deer. It worked! The sweet potatoes are healthier than ever!

20170729_144711.jpg

And the picture above is the green bean section. @goatgarden brought one bean in the house before leaving for his conference. He instructed us to pick beans this week, or we'll lose the crop. I was in the middle of something two days ago, but showed the big kids what to pick, gave them bowls, and let them at it. They stayed outside all of 10 minutes, and came in with two handfuls, stating that's all they could find. I went out yesterday to give the chickens some scraps. I went over to check the beans. Holy smokes! In about 20 minutes time, I had my big bowl (from scraps) filled, along with the skirt of my apron! After washing, soaking, and snapping them, we've got about 2 1/2 gallon bags full!!! Green beans fresh from the garden have always been one of my favorites.

20170729_144450.jpg

This pot of beans and potatoes (also from our garden) has been on the stove on low since about noon. It's smelling so good! I've also got chicken breasts in the crock pot, so supper should be a fairly easy fix tonight.

20170729_145347.jpg

And here's the little one on one of her favorite spots.
The older two are taking a little break right now, and @goatgarden has his feet propped up taking a well deserved break.

How are you spending your Saturday?

Sort:  

Congratulations @clickinchicken! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have tried purple carrots before and got a few good ones, most did not do well for me but boy, they sure were pretty, especially when you sliced them. Love how the centers go from orange to purple.

Your sweet potato plants look pretty healthy. Trying them for the first time in our very wet climate to see how they will do, they only really started growing a couple of weeks ago so I am not sure if we will get much. At least a couple of the plants look healthy now and I just added a couple leaves to our salad for tonight. :)