Fall Garden

in #garden6 years ago

20180827_134942~2.jpg
Completion! My vegetable patch is at long last cleared of grass, its borders installed, and soil amended!

20180827_134929.jpg

After sifting out all those Bermuda grass rhizomes, the dirt level dropped significantly. I refilled it with over a cubic yard of garden soil, manure, and peat.

20180827_161009~2.jpg

My son @narwhalz0111 fitted up a trellis and archway from reinforcement panel and wire fencing.

I planted a lot of green beans, spinach, beets, and even some purple tomatilloes. I even sprinkled some echinacea seeds for beauty. There is still lots of room for things like broccoli.

The tomato bushes and pepper plants are still going strong from early summer planting. I don't know if the squash will recover from its radical surgery to remove aphid-farming ants,

20180824_123424~2.jpg

but the lemon cuke seems to have bounced back from its similar condition.

20180824_123506~2.jpg

The almanac recommended putting in a fall garden by August 25th in my zone. I missed it by just a couple of days. I can already taste the future harvest!

There is nothing like planting seeds to evidence faith. Faith in peace, clean water, and safety. Faith in the land, the microcosmos, and the pure sunshine. Faith in the germ of life inside each tiny seed, its telos tightly curled inside, just waiting to bring to fruition.

May all beings dwell in love, kindness, peace, and joy!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

May your garden be fruitful!! i will get to it once I am back from Arizona. It will be late - but better late than never :)

As the saying goes, the best time to plant a tree is 10 years ago. Second best time: now! Hehhe <3

Your garden is looking really organised!

Thanks! I worked really hard to create a grass free perimeter!

Yes, yes, and triple yes. Everything about this post is yes! It’s an exciting time to plant the seeds which will be harvested next season. May you guys dwell in the nutrition you’ve sowed (physical, spiritual and otherwise). Thanks for sharing your garden with us.

Thank you so much for your enthusiasm! You really get where I am coming from <3 Blessings!

Love it! One reason I tempted your hubby@mattlovell to come down and pick out some shrubs... I want the veggie-space!

Your veggie gardening skillz are enviable for sure! Can't wait to see what you do!

so excited for your garden! I still have a bunch of seeds I was planning to plant months ago, but have been too lazy to get the soil T-T

There's always time for instant gratification crops like radishes, or a container full of herbs. Cheers!