Sort:  

What did you cover with these cut hedge branches?

I covered the ground, so no weeds can grow.
Before planting, I will just rake them clear.

If weeds still come through you can lay old cardboard boxes under the mulch and that will stop them.

I know about sheet mulching.
I have, in fact, read the works of Sepp Holzer, and even Steiner.
I know all the Permaculture stuff, worked on farms... I have done /seen it all.

The picture above doesn't do it justice; When I put those branches there, they were all green still. Underneath, there is now a THICK layer of leafs.
However, this is my potato patch. I will rake it clear and build dams for my potatos. That works much better in this climate than mulching.

Normally this would be covered in deep snow, but that hasn't happened the last years so I am trying to adapt, keeping the weeds down over winter, so I have an easier time planting - that's all.

Ecency mobile, dektop app, or web (browser interface)? - Just curious!

mobile.