Garden update - Planting Broccoli (maybe too late?)

in #garden5 years ago

Hi Steemit friends!

I am way late on planting some broccoli, but I'm giving it a shot this year.

According to NC State (https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:5QbhUalfh9cJ:https://content.ces.ncsu.edu/growing-a-fall-vegetable-garden+&cd=14&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us), August 15th is when I should be planting my broccoli crop. I ended up planting it yesterday, October 10th.

I went by the local plant store and they still had a lot of broccoli (and other fall crop plants) out, so I let them know it's way late according to the "authorities" and that I'd be taking a chance on buying these plants now.

They agreed, so they let me have buy one flat, get one free. I thought that was fair, so I got the two flats.

IMG_2618.JPG

I had cleaned up a couple of my beds, #1 and #3... I was going to fill them up with some of the sawdust, but I wanted to immediately plant these, and decided to just use the soil medium that was still in there and go with that.

IMG_5786.JPG

IMG_5787.JPG

I did put up some agribon (https://amzn.to/2B4un1g) on the in the garden greenhouse hoops, so maybe that will help.

I'll do more posts as we progress to share if I was too late or not. We shall see!

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

The Harbor Freight 6x8 Greenhouse

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.