This is why I love my garden.

in #garden7 years ago

Hello dear Steemit friends,

I’ve been very busy recently in and around our house, especially in the garden. So I didn’t had much time to do some photography.

It also has been a while since I shared some. That’s why I went through my photos taken during my time here on Steemit which never made it into a post before. Like these pictures of some flowers for example.

2U0B0386_L.jpg

2U0B0448_L.jpg

We experience some serious downpours from time to time. Not always pleasant but with a beauty of it's own.

2U0B1149_L.jpg

2U0B0641_L.jpg

The garden has been slightly neglected over the last couple of months because of Steemit. How fantastic this community is, it takes a lot of my time that I normally would devote to other jobs that need to be done.

One job that requires my immediate attention is expanding the compost heap. Or actually I need a second one to handle all the clippings and trimmings coming from the garden.

This dragonfly didn’t mind hanging around my compost heap. It’s probably a common green darner but there are a lot of different green dragonflies so I’m not sure.

2U0B9880_L.jpg

2U0B9886_L.jpg

2U0B9884_L.jpg

The hummingbirds are still visiting the garden. Here is one sitting in the moringa tree.

2U0B1477_L.jpg

2U0B1480_L.jpg

So are the whiptail lizards. This little fellow probably enjoys all the weeds where it can hide from predators.

2U0B1731_L.jpg

The weeds bring beauty of it’s own of course. Like these esperanzas.

2U0B2381_L.jpg

Or is this a small praying mantis?

2U0B9942_L.jpg

This is what I call a ‘butterfly bush’ because it attracts so many butterflies. I found it in the fields nearby and brought it back home. We have several of those bushes in the garden. They also attract hummingbirds.

2U0B0589_L.jpg

This is a banded orange Heliconian (Drydula Phaetusa). It’s an often seen quest in our garden. Here it is enjoying the nectar of the butterfly bush.

2U0B1455_L.jpg

2U0B9965_L.jpg

Guess what? This bush is actually called a butterfly bush. It’s a Lantana in the Verbena family. I just looked it up.

2U0B1459_L.jpg

This grasshopper is keeping an eye on me. Why is it that some insects are so shy while others you can almost touch.

2U0B2949_L.jpg

2U0B2967_L2.jpg

It's a bit creepy but there's another bug in this picture sitting on the poor grasshopper's eye.

2U0B2966_L.jpg

This fly was too busy to notice me. It found something to eat which was worth risking his life for

2U0B2362_L.jpg

2U0B2365_L.jpg

All these pictures were taken in my garden. The beauty and bio-diversity is simply amazing. That's why I love my garden.

Ornament 2.jpg

Thanks and much love,

Gardenbsquared


square-small.png

If you want to read more interesting and inspiring post,
just click on the train and step on board.


Sort:  

I love the look of this garden.

Me too!

These are beautiful. I know what you mean about the garden being neglected thanks to Steemit! ;-)

Congratulations @gardenbsquared! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Although I have a tiny yard in the middle of a city I too love my garden, and growing trees in bins creates a tiny island of green in a concrete sea.

So true indeed. Creating your own paradise, the place where you can relax and enjoy. Great.

I am not much into gardening myself but I really appreciate and admire people who are gardening enthusiasts. You sure have done a great job with your garden and I would love to see an overview photo of it when you are ready with it. Also, the photos you have taken are really good! Will be visiting your blog often now :)

Thank you. That's very kind of you. Gardening is a lot of work, so I fully understand. Thanks again for the compliment.

You are always welcome. :)

I already love your garden too :)
I know this post is old but I am glad I found it. Would love to see more!

Thanks. At the moment my focus is on birds, but there will be many more posts about the garden as well.

Super enjoyed your garden up close today!!! Butterfly bushes are one of my favorites!

Yes they bring in so many butterflies and birds as well. Thank you.

What incredible photos. It looks like you have a tropical paradise there!

Thank you. It's indeed a tropical paradise but looks can be deceiving sometimes.