Chili Peppers are Coming to Harvest

in #gardenlast year

I Planted on Chili Plant

And I got five chili peppers so far. One (the cover) just went into a batch of Chili for a friend who was missing the wonderful stew while in Argentina.

Remember the little flowers I had posted?


smalflowerbud.jpg

Here is a bud. The best sign I have that these hard to come by reds are setting up to become ripe every few weeks.

smallflower.jpg

I just have to remember to pollinate them manually. For some reason, the bees don't often make it up the my balcony where I built my garden on the edge of a wall.

lg-greenchjili.jpg

When I am successful at finding all the little white flowers and giving them a shake, I get these green chilies heading straight out to the side.

IMG_20230404_103226.jpg

As they start to ripen, then bow a bit toward the ground and the red comes in from the bottom upward toward the stem. At first, I thought something was wrong with this little guy, but I have seen it getting redder every day since I took these (right around Easter).

lg-chilipepper.jpg

I have never successfully grown chili peppers, so this is a new experience for me. Here are a couple more that are not ready to be plucked off and added to the pot as of yet.

med-chilipeper.jpg

I have to wait for them to fatten up a bit. I am so glad I tossed the seeds from summer chilies into my garden. Though only one sprouted, I am happy with the quantity of peppers I am getting.

Spoiler... I was able to by Habaneros for the first time in a couple decades here in the way-down-south. Yes, I did pop some seeds in the ground and we will see...


Originally posted on DClub Community Articles. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

Congratulations @greenthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!