Transplant that Sucker 🌿 Takes tens seconds or less!

in #gardenlast year

Flashback

Remember when I told you how to handle "these little suckers"? I had promised an update and here it is!

Yes, they are really called "suckers" and they grow in the crook of the tomato branches, and suck out all the nutrients which makes your tomato plants produce less.

Here are the photos I took back then...

image.png

image.png

the little hairs become roots...

image.png

image.png


Well here is that same sprig of tomato plant today.

image.png

It was exactly one month ago that I plucked that sucker off of the mom plant.

image.png

I have not given it any special attention. I water it one time in the morning along with all the other places that I have marked where seeds have been sown.

I have also taken all sorts of large and small branches from my main tomato plant and they are all surviving.

Monday was our first day over 80 degrees and today was over 90 degrees. I have rigged my pollinator and use it to shake the flowers every day. Look what is happening already...


first-tomatos.jpg

Left are the open flowers that need to be shaken (I use an electric brush that vibrates). The middle are the ones that have closed and are beginning to grow tomatoes inside the green part. And at the right are the first bloomers with little green tomatoes that need only grow and get red.

Thanks. Have a great rest of the week and eat healthy homegrown!


Originally posted on DClub Community Articles. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.