You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heirloom Tomato Plants in Full Bloom + Garden Updates🌱+ What's Coming This Week!

in #garden7 years ago

this is what they look like @sufficientliving. They are cheap and reusable - and easy to apply and remove. I needed something I can use quickly because supporting 100+ tomato plants can become very time consuming! I like these Velcro straps becasue they are pre-cut, cheap, and the inner side is soft - it really does not harm the stems like many other alternatives I have used. I LOVE THESE THINGS! I've bought nearly 1,000 of these this year and I can say they are worth the $15-$20 (USD) that I spent.

The livestock fencing works great because it is heavy duty metal and is made to return to its shape - when livestock push against it. I was lucky enough to be gifted an entire roll this year from my neighbors, so that actually saved my rear this year!! It was a 330 ft. roll of fencing x 4 ft width/height. I doubled them up and started them 6"-12" off the ground so I could attain at least 9 feet of secured trellis.

Sort:  

Where do you purchase the velcro straps from? Those are going to be on my list for next year's garden.

I bought them at a local Walmart, but I did look them up online on their site:
https://www.walmart.com/ip/VELCRO-Brand-ONE-WRAP-Thin-Ties-8in-x-1-2in-Ties-Black-100-ct/14917793
You might be able to find them in a store near you or somewhere like Amazon online. The site says they are sold out, but I'm sure you can find some before next season. I might have bought them all 😆