Gardening Season 2021 - We're About To Start Soon

in #garden3 years ago

I am very happy to say that soon I'll be able to share garden related posts again after winter break! By the end of this week we will probably do a first round of planting veggies (still not 100% sure but most likely some onions and peas) and continue getting the rest of the seeds we need.


We try to keep as many seeds as we can from each gardening season, especially if they performed well but each year there's some that we need to buy. Even though there's still time, we slowly started buying what we need and plan to plant - it's nice to have everything ready and not worry if something will be sold out at our local agricultural shop.

20210304_134012.jpg

20210310_113127.jpg

Here's our raspberries all trimmed and in addition to the original two rows, there's two new ones as there was so many sprouts and I guess you can never have too many raspberries! They are one of my absolute favorite fresh snacks. On the second picture you can see that we watered the re-planted raspberries and also added some (hardwood) ash to the soil. We also sprinkled some ash on the rest of the garden soil these past few weeks in order to prepare it for planting as it has many benefits.


20210304_162809.jpg

20210310_113110.jpg

Then it was also time to trim blackberries, they were looking wild and over time they just ended up spreading on their own so there's was no need to re-plant them. These days I will probably take care of strawberries as well since they have been neglected so I'll share that in the next post. I don't know why I'm this excited to start gardening work again and share about it here on Hive, I guess it was so meaningful and therapeutic for me last year during the lockdown so I want continue making it as an important part of my life still.


I would love to hear about your gardening plans for this year so feel free to drop a comment below! Thank you for checking out this post! :)


banner.png

Sort:  

Very happy about that! I look forward to getting my gardens going! Still some snow on the ground here though