Getting the Garden Ready for Winter oneboringdude

in #garden7 years ago

When we inherited this garden it was in pretty bad shape. There were six foot tall Johnson grass and weeds galore. The soil was pretty compact and that first season I could only fight weeds and easily dig down a couple of inches. When the summer was over I knew we had to build the soil up if we ever wanted to get more than meager results. My daughter 1awesomegirl and I rolled up our sleeves and got to work improving the soil's composition, nutrients, and microbiology.
My methodology is quite simple only chop and drop finished plants and add as much organic matter to the planting beds as possible. After sitting all winter the leaves and straw we added broke down into rich composted soil that was vastly better. We hope you enjoy the video as much as we did making it.