Our set up! PICTURE DUMP FROM TONGIHT

in #garden7 years ago

IMG_0107.JPG

This is my favorite angle of the house! The garden beds Blake and I builtin the driveway and had to pick up and carry them to where they are now permanently going to live. As you can see I'm currently in a loosing battle against the pests, and late start to summer here is Washington! It looks like the weather will start looking up. I know that my poor plants need it as much as I do.
The bed on the left currently homes strawberries, watermelons, and onions. And please forgive the awkward arrangement I've planted in, sometimes people offer me starts and seeds and I need them in the ground right away so there is little time too thingk about what should go where. And with such a small space, I can't be picky about placement! Here is a upclose shot of our heirloom watermelon seeds I got from bakers creek.IMG_0104.JPG

Speaking of Bakers creek, If my fellow homesteaders or gardeners don't know you get a free surprise seed pack with every order. This time around I got a small heirloom variety of black cherry tomatoes! The deer took a toll on a lot of my young ones, and I have yet to see the glow of a little yellow flower but there is hope! IMG_0105.JPG
This last picture is taken facing the garden, in hoped of showing what my tiny raspberry patch looks like. It's that straw patch behind the beds. Nothing too impressive but in a few years hopefully we will be making jam!
IMG_0108.JPG
Have a beautiful evening everyone. Thank you for following our story!IMG_0099.JPG

Sort:  

Ah man, those deer are as bad as my dang ground squirrels!!

We have squirrels here too but if we feed them they stay away from the garden... so far!

I dunno about tree squirrels, but ground squirrels (they're like prairie dogs) are now my arch nemesis. grumble

I'm 90% sure that we don't have those here?
and from the sound of it, I should be glad to not have to deal with them!!!!