You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sweet Potato Harvest September 2016 oneboringdude

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

Hi, that is amazing! I am Dutch and don't know what you mean by 'slips'. I love sweet potato and would love to grow them. I put three of them on organic soil, nothing happened but 2 started to rot. One made roots I think for it feels like stuck in the the soil/pot. You think it is? I have no idea how they grow is it like regular potato plants? Can you please aloborate a little to help me understand growing them? I would really appreciate it! 🙏

Sort:  

Hello
Thanks for the comment. Slips are pretty simple. When the sweet potatoes are allowed to grow out shoots you can break these off of the potato and root them. These are the slips that you want to have. Here's a link to a video that explains how to make your own.

How kind of you. This is wonderful, thank you so very much. Yesterday I noticed 2 sprouts coming out of the potato, yeey