Yard Tales - Frangipani Gold

in #garden3 years ago

Frangipani_00.jpg


Back in July I picked up a small piece of broken Frangipani (Plumeria acutifolia) branch lying on the footpath. It had come from a lovely large tree in a yard around the corner from us. The header image is the parent plant flowering in November. Look at how gold those petals are!

When I brought the branch home, it was just a rather sad looking "Y" shaped piece. I stuck it in some potting mix in a yoghurt container and watered it along with the rest of my plants. I knew they grew fairly easily, but I didn't have high hopes for this particular piece. It was small and it had been lying on the ground for some time.


Frangipani_01.jpg


Those yoghurt containers have drainage holes drilled in the bottom and are sitting in a plastic tray to retain a bit of water. The other three plants pictured were my volunteer tomato plants salvaged from the compost bin.

The piece of branch took a long time to do anything, and I was almost ready to give up and throw it in the compost, but then in late October two tiny shoots started to appear.


Frangipani_03.jpg


They got bigger over that week.


Frangipani_04.jpg

Frangipani_05.jpg


In November I moved it into a big pot with potting mix and a bit of mushroom compost. It had grown an amazing root system in that yoghurt pot! In the big pot, it continued to put out new leaves.


Frangipani_06.jpg

Frangipani_07.jpg


Then it really took off.


Frangipani_08.jpg

Frangipani_09.jpg


Now it's absolutely thriving and I'm assessing good spots in the yard to plant it :-)


Frangipani_10.jpg


The other five branches I acquired at the end of December seem to be doing okay. Their existing leaves are still looking droopy. I guess they're putting all their energy into forming roots. I'm hoping they take a little quicker than the original one as it was trying over winter and we're now in mid summer. The weather is quite hot and we've had a fair amount of rain.

Until next time,
@Sammie


Previous posts about Frangipanis:


teamaustraliahivebadgeslimbirdpeakd.comsammie.png

Original content created by @Sammie.

Sort:  

image.png image.png

You have been tipped by the @ecosaint account! 😀👍 The voting account for the #Edenbuxx gardening community! 🍄🌵🌱🍃

Edenbuxx tokens are being traded on https://hive-engine.com/?p=market&t=EDENBUXX