Growing Potatoes in hay July 3rd update

in #garden5 years ago (edited)

I saw a video awhile back of someone successfully growing potatoes in discarded hay. I acquired some from a local farmer that did not want it anymore.

I cut up some potatoes forming eyes and placed them under the hay. And about a month later now I have potato stalks coming up out of the hay.

The few inches of hay made for enough media for the red potatoes to grow in. So far so good.

The pawpaw tree may give these too much shade. So we shall see when harvesting if they are smaller underneath the tree.

I wonder if the stalks will fall over when they flower. As the dirt gives me them a good structure to hold up the root system. Right now they are too small to fall over but if they do I can stake them and tie them to supports. Next year if this works I plan on adding more hay, the rains matted down what I dispersed so theres more room now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 34.48% upvote from us for your 5194 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

This is the Ruth Stout method and we use it all over our garden and it works wonderfully. We just harvested our red potatoes and this system really works. They key is to constantly add hay. When someone asked Ruth how much hay to add, she always said "More". Great job!

@squareonefarms oh right that name sounds familiar. Nice! Looking forward to our potatoes and I may add more hay like you said.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like you are in for some fresh potatoes :-)

hoping so, they taste great when they are fresh off the plant.

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 3.4% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I tried this one year and it worked beautifully! I did the same thing with hay that I did with dirt: just keep adding hay to the bottom of the leaves until the plants flower. The hay makes it much easier to harvest, as well. No digging in wet dirt to find your buried treasures. I hope it works well for you!

@goat-girlz

nice, ill need to contact my local farmer and get some more hay to add.. Looking forward to its results.

Loading...