Sort:  

I love this idea! We've got a number of tires sitting around the property that we bought last fall. Random tires in the middle of the woods. Not sure how or why they are there! But this is a great use for them. You could even paint them to make it more decorative :)

Yes, and great for terracing hillsides! Also, have seen pyramid type features built with them in flat areas too for variation of light and elevation

Like a raised bed?
Have you gotten any produce from them?
Would the veggies absorb the ingredients from the tire?

Yes, they work great! I've had great harvests of cukes out of them so far. Also have some fruit trees in them. Haven't seen any info about any toxicity from them, fda even says they're ok for planters. I'll post more pics of uses for tires

Yes, please do post pics.

I have thought about doing this but I was always wary of the potential for soil contamination from the tires.

Do you know any hazards this could pose?

Great post, great idea!

Most of the off-gassing occurs when tires are new and online research shows non-toxic. Fda agrees. If a tire is stinky, I use it as a building block rather than a planter cell. I use lots of recycled tires. Follow for more project pics!

Thank you for the info! That puts my mind at ease to know they're safe.

Are you growing food in them?

Yes! Sry took me so long to reply, but I am harvesting lots of food out of them!