Beautiful Tomatoes

in #garden6 years ago (edited)

Beautiful Tomatoes To Fill The Soul

blue beauty (2 of 1).jpg

This year my main garden area is overgrown and neglected, the season seemed to go from Winter to Summer, with very little time for spring cleaning. With little free time the garden was overlooked. Fortunately, I was still able to plant six tomato plants, 4 pepper plants and one jalapeno plant in an area not used for gardening. The soil had not been worked for years, so I worked it as good as I could, adding worm castings and rock dust, plus lots of organic matter. The plants are a little closer than I normally would space them, but all plants seem to be doing great and I am looking forward to the bounty they will provide.

blue beauty (1 of 1).jpg

These beautiful tomatoes are my favorite tomato ever. I have been growing them for three or four years. They are kind of like a beefsteak but don't get as large, but are the best tasting tomato. They are Blue Beauty tomatoes and I got the seeds originally from Baker Creek. If you know me, you know I love purple fruits and vegetables, as I like different colors in my food. The Blue Beauty tomatoes are blue when they are ripe. A very beautiful tomato.