Garden Hive Update - Pepper Edition

in #gardenhive3 years ago


Garden5.jpg

Inspired in part by the Hive community, I began reclaiming lawn space, building raised boxes, and blogging about my adventures in gardening. This might be year #5 of the ever-growing garden that officially launches this weekend every year.

You may have heard of the curation engine in play named @GardenHive for us Hive green thumbs and I think you should check out the intro post here https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@gardenhive/gardenhive-introduction-hive-garden-community-curation-account if you haven't yet. Join Hive gardeners like @skylinebuds for creating the @simplymike for introducing me to it.

This week, I check in on my big bed o' peppers.


image.png


IMG_1635.jpg

Most of my garden serves the purpose of pleasing the ladies. If ol' Zeke had claim to a potion of the garden as a personal project, it would be the hot pepper box. There are carrots & greens in the foreground, grass & mint in the back ground, and that whole middle mass is made of hot peppers. They share the same soil but range from mild & munchable to violently hot. While some ripen early, others take the whole summer so here we take a closer look, half way through July.


image.png

Sweet


IMG_1706.jpg

The mildest of the peppers are not spicy at all. These sweet green peppers are the ones you would by weekly in the grocery store or farmers markets in the summer. We have already harvested the first of these but this is the second sweet green bell pepper. We generally only get a half dozen peppers per year but they are some of the crispest, freshest peppers you can have.

image.png

A Little Hot


IMG_1704.jpg

This is a Hungarian Wax Banana Pepper plant. As shameful as it is to me to call these hot, some folks find these spicy little numbers to be plenty hot. Slightly hotter than the pistol petes grown last year, you could probably munch on these like sweet peppers if you have any heat tolerance at all.

I added these in hopes of providing some mass and flavour to a hot sauce that would be spicy enough because of the peppers to follow in this post. Turns out, the early yield is great as we have a half dozen already, and they are fantastic as part of beef shish kabobs on the barbeque!


image.png

A Little Hotter


IMG_1705.jpg

These babies are Jalapeno Gigantes I purchased from the nursery. I grew plenty of jalapenos from seeds but this plant was so tall early on, I had to buy it and see what would happen. Turns out, it was the tallest for a long time, and has already kicked out 8 six-inch peppers which are pleasantly hot and perfect for pizza or sandwiches.

I am enjoying the smaller/regular peppers this year as well but pretty pleased with myself for adding the big ones.


image.png

The Hottest Pepper I Have Ever Grown?


IMG_1698.jpg

I have skipped over dozens of chilis, a couple budding habaneros, and a few that are only in flowers stage to get to these babies. Last year, I grew ghost peppers which turn out to be the most ridiculously and maliciously hot pepper I could imagine. A thin little slice hade me spitting and crying like a little girl. A squirt of this sauce in a whole pot of chili turns it into fire. Ghost Peppers are stupidly hot. Topping out at an insane 1,041,427 Scovilles.

This puppy is a Trinidad Moruga Scorpion which weighs in at 2,000,000 Scovilles. How the hell a pepper can be twice as hot as a Ghost Pepper, I cannot even imagine. I suspect it will make for good blogging for those who enjoy reading about me suffering. What is even scarier is that this is not the hottest pepper in the garden.

You might just have to tune into another Pickleman Family Garden update to see what that might be when it blooms.


image.png

Pickles!


IMG_1708.jpg

This is not a pepper but I have to stay true to my unintentional brand. It has been a challenging couple of years with the birds eating my cucumber plants before they can grow. This year, I have a couple English cucumber, a couple slicers, and a handful of these pickles I have grown from seed. This might possibly turn out to be the first pickle out of the Pickleman garden. I will be sure to ferment them and hope to have enough so that I can make some spicy, sweet habanero pickles. Stay tuned!


image.png


Garden.jpg

Mom started me along my path of growing stuff when I was a kid. Motivated by so many blockchain blogging gardeners, I figured I would plant and share and learn as I reclaim as much grass space as I can. It has turned out to be a fruitful experience and I hope to inspire others to sow and grow no matter what your location or experience level is.

Then, blog about it using #gardenjournal and the new #gardenhive tags as we network and curate the journals of other green thumbs, outdoor enthusiasts and fresh whole foodies.

No matter your home...JUST GROW!


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png




image.png

Show Us You Peppers!

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 900 posts.
Your next target is to reach 950 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!