You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: F

in #gardening5 years ago

Kimchi isn't hard to make. If you can get decent napa cabbage and red pepper paste (most asian supermarkets or Amazon has that), the rest is easy. I'll post my 2019 recipe in a few weeks.

I never tried growing tumeric. I wonder if it works here. I plan on doing more seeds and experimenting kext season, so we will see.

The Korean daikon is not as long, but it is fatter than the Japanese variety.

Sort:  

Cool, I'll keep an eye out for your version. I would imagine the turmeric might do well since you seem to be able to grow a lot of the same things as we do here. It's pretty easy in that if you get some of the fresh root you can break it up a bit to replant and it grows straight from there, so you don't need to save seeds or anything. I'll have to try ginger, as well, to see how that does. Always fun to try out some new things and see what works.

I'm not sure how ginger works, but I imagine it is the same. I've never seen fresh tumeric here, maybe I'll have to order it from the Asia Mart.
I can't grow garlic or onions because they grow over winter and I don't own my land so during the winter, I have no control over what goes on there.

Ahh, makes sense. We haven't tried onions and garlic yet, either. I think the turmeric is supposed to be put in the ground early spring? I'll have to look it up again, but I believe that's what my boyfriend said. Apparently it will just stay dormant over winter even if you do leave it in the ground during the cold weather.

That makes sense. The ground here doesn't really freeze during winter. Maybe the first 1cm or something.