Early Spring Gardens

in #gardening3 years ago

Hello, hivers! Welcome to da gardens, eh!

This is a first look at my gardens for the year. I have 2 different garden locations, and several different gardening methods. I have my garden at home, my container garden at home, and I rent two 14 by 20 foot garden plots at the local community garden. I've been writing about these gardens on Hive, and on steem before that for several years now. Every year I change things around a bit, partly for crop rotation, and partly to try new gardening methods.

First, let's take a look at the home garden. This was the garden a week ago, still with some snow on it.

DSCN4321.JPG

I took this picture last Sunday, when we were having a bit of a warm spell. As you can see, the snow is all melted away, for now. We may well get more snow this spring. The ground is still frozen except for the top inch or so, which is mud. As you can see, I'm in the process of transferring my miniature railroad to the garden to use for hauling stuff for the garden. That is a story for a different post.

DSCN4356.JPG

This is my container garden. I did some of the prep work last fall before it got too cold, and then I covered it for the winter. Once we start getting weather in the 50s F again, I'll finish setting it up. The 4 big pots are pretty much ready to go, but I still need to set up the containers, and perhaps get another big pot or two.

DSCN4357.JPG

The mess in the little raised bed is the remains of last year's marigold plants. It will be interesting to see how many of their seeds sprout this spring.
DSCN4360.JPG

text divider.png
These are my 2 community garden plots.

I've been working with the same two garden plots at the community garden for several years. I started out with one plot for the first two years and then was able to get a second plot. I think I've had the 2 plots for 3 years now.
This is a look through the garden fence gate.
DSCN4352.JPG

From the other end. I have a small pile of mulch, and 2 old straw bales to use for more mulch as I need it.
DSCN4354.JPG

This is a third plot that I'm trying to get for this year. This plot is for a friend of mine who I let use one of my plots last year. I want to plant all of my potatoes at the community garden this year because the soil is sandy and loose, and the potatoes do well here. That means that I'll need more garden space for myself, so I'm trying to get her a plot of her own. I tilled it up last fall and covered as much of it as I could with black plastic to kill the grass.

DSCN4353.JPG

Last year, the garden plots were all rented out, and most of them were actually used. I think it might have been in response to the covid crisis, because for the previous 2 years, there were only my plots and 1 other being used. It will be interesting to see how many people come back this year to the garden. The people who had the plots the previous year have first choice on the plots this year.

One more picture for this post, a shot of the inside of the greenhouse. I have all the pots in place now, and when we get more nice days, I'll get back to filling them with potting soil. I only have 2 more bags to use, so I know that I'm going to have to buy more bags to finish filling the pots.

DSCN4359.JPG

That's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Nice post about all your gardens. :)) Sort of a "before" picture....

Looks like it won't be long till you are busting @ss out there.