Easy Sunday Afternoon Craft Project - Mason Jar Planters

in #gardening7 years ago

mason jar 015.JPG

I had some potted plants that had outgrown their plastic pots and needed repotting, so I decided to recycle some old mason jars and re-pot them in those.

To brighten up the jars so they would match my black and white theme decor, I spray painted the jars white and the lids black.

mason jar 002.JPG

mason jar 004.JPG

I bought a bag of soil

and some twine

mason jar 011.JPG

Then the fun began. I filled the jars with soil and made a big mess. I loved making mud pies as a kid to be honest!

I overfilled the jars with soil, because the water tamps it down too low otherwise.

I pulled my plants out of the old pots and put portions of them in the jars. I had an aloe vera, Christmas Cactus and a succulent.

Then I tied some twine around the top for decoration! Done! Fun, fast and simple!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

SO NICE Ann!

Thanks, I'm waiting for your post about how to make black bean salsa haha!

Haha It will go to taste test tomorrow...I'll let you know @AnnHoyBlog ! lol There might be a long way and a cheaty canned way :)

Sounds tasty! Thanks. Oooh, cheaty canned way sounds exciting!

Congratulations @annhoyblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I find that my some of my plants die if they aren't in pots that drain the excess water out. I'm curious to see how this works for your aloe plants. Looks great!

The plants are doing well so far!

Good to know! I may try to do my own like that. They looked beautiful!

Yes I was worried about that too and thought of putting small rocks in the bottom, but I'm banking on the height of the dirt for draining it. My inspiration for these was a local upcycled furniture store that had them and the plants looked great! Thanks, I will have to update you! haha

So cuuuute! I get my Mason jars t the Dollar Tree for $1 a piece...or else I have to buy a whole case at Kmart. The ones I buy are smaller than the normal size which surprised me.

Thanks! The small ones are super cute. Would be great for air plants! Everyone around me is canning with fresh dill and baby cucumbers and peaches. I love this time of year.

Thanks! The small ones are super cute. Would be great for air plants! Everyone around me is canning with fresh dill and baby cucumbers and peaches. I love this time of year.

Peaches! :)

Haha, yummy!

That's very creative. I like it a lot. Thanks for sharing

Thanks, I think your blog is creative as well, following you.