aquaponics system update week 15

in #gardening7 years ago

Hello steemit this week I bring you black gold. @amy-goodrich alerted me to the possibility of phytoftora on my tomatoes. So I am interested to see if using trichoderma spp. will do anything to halt further spreading of the disease. 8've started to weigh my food input because nitrates are all over the place and bugs stole my strawberry, grrrr.

trichoderma

Pictured is a mix of trichoderma and some bacillus species that are used by comercial growers and there is evidence to support it's use in a variety of cases. It's usually used against rootrot and not commonly used in aquaponics as I explained previously. I used one gram for a spray bottle of 750 ml and plan to use this once a week, spraying it on te leaves and dumping the rest in the growbeds water.
I used it on some of the strawberry roots and of the leaves of the tomatoes and pepper plant.

strawberry roots todayhoping to stop the march of this sickness
ImgurImgur

Nutes in ppm

This week I added a bit of KOH (<100 ml 25% solution) to maintain ph levels and iron and manganese as micronutrients. No major drops in the other nutrients. I'm starting to weigh the food because nitrates keep jumping all over the place. Today I gave 112 gr of feed to my 34 trout. For reference the uvi system had a mean of 90 grams of feed per square meter. I have 2 square meters of growing bed.

ElementMy valuesTypical hydroponic solution
N30210
P1831
K45235
Ca120-140200
Mg3048
Fe11 to 5
Cu00.05
NO20.20

Harvesting bugs

Just when that strawberry you have been waiting for ripens bugs strike. I didn't have these eating my berries in june. I think I raised these bugs on turnips I had nearby in the soil. Previously I got lucky with the aphids because my system atracted enough ladybugs. No such luck with these bugs.

strawberry infested with bugsbug infested ground turnip, bug hub?
ImgurImgur

All of my turnips were infected with various things, I had one seedling transplanted to my growbed to see if it grows. The skin appeared better but cutting it open revealed the same bugs.

aquaponics turnipsliced in two
ImgurImgur

Peas still going strong!

The sweet grey dwarf variety only gave me one harvest but this Mrs. Lei variety keeps on giving, they ran out of growing space and doubled over my growbed hanging there.
Imgur

Looking out for

I planted some Physalis peruviana, we will see if these can beat the frost.
Imgur

peppers looking good
Imgur

See you next time, feel free to ask questions

Sort:  

good luck, I know nothing about tomatoes and strawberries but weed growers have great results with trichoderma.

Seems to be the way to go. Thank you.

Great effort ,keep sharing , upvoted