Aquaponics system update week 16

in #gardening7 years ago

6 weeks of blogging on steemit!

The black gold from last week did not turn the tide for the already diseased plants. We will see if it protects the other plants from getting that bad. Feeding averaging 110 gr per day. I lowered the water an extra cm on the left growbed because the surface was wet not just moist. That can't be good with 20+ °C. I pulled out the snowpeas since they started to dry up.

trout
My water cleared up enough to at least see the bottom again. Fish are growing, I'll be harvesting the first within the month. I'm convinced now aquaponics does not work without a solids filter beyond media growbeds. My growbeds are filling up with mud/fishpoop. I do have rainworms in there helping, but it's just not enough.
If you are starting out with aquaponics, build something like a radial flow filter or swirl filter from the gow. Yes, my system is still going but it's just not good if you cant see your fish properly.

still solids after growbedworms at evey root I pull :D
ImgurImgur

Nutes in ppm

I hit some form of stability now, the PO4 dropped and the KOH being added to neutralize the pH seems to keep K stable at 45. Nitrates seem low but the tomatoes are growing really big leafs and setting fruit. If I had to go blind, I would be adding 20 ml KOH (25%) every day and 5 gr iron chelate every week. It should be doable to only measure pH and have your system running well if you have some experience within your parameters.

ElementMy valuesTypical hydroponic solution
N10210
P12 - 1831
K45235
Ca140200
Mg3048
Fe0.61 to 5
Cu00.05
NO20.30
NH40.050

More pictures



Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

^^ giant tomato leafs or small hands. I leave you with this riddle

Sort:  

Awesome post and info. I will be referring back to this post when I get my AP system back again. Cheers!

I will do a post rounding up some best practices for starters. I'll give you a heads up. First going to visit some friends systems and discuss their findings.

@ask-not-please
Good Post!
Thanks for sharing.

Welcome Friends "Blog For You"... I need Support All ... Upvote My Post & Follow Me ➡️ I Will Also Do The Same For You... Thank You...!!!!☺️