My first hydro strawberries

in #gardening7 years ago

Aquaponic Strawberries

Imgur

This year I am having more luck with my aquaponic setup and I got my first successful fruits :)
Strawberries have a low sodium and chloride tolerance, that can be an issue with the fishfeed going into the recirculating system and accumulating. They prefer a light acidic environment.

NFT pipe extension

I didn't want to plant these in my growbeds lest they get crowded out. So I expanded my system with some drainage pipe and some beer cups. Some plants didn't establish and the harvest is pretty low compared to soil but it's a decent start

Imgur

Flavour

Are there any people succesfully growing strawberries in hydro here?
Mine tasted a bit watery haha.
What's most important for taste? correct ph, nutrient ratios or overall salt concentration

Imgur

Sort:  

They're looking pretty good and I see you've got some plants with a large number of berries, shame they're not that tasty. Yesterday I bought exactly the same sort of pipe for my new system for greens, still can't figure out how to connect all of them, but I'm sure I'll find a way.

Hope you don't have leaks, I had a small one at first. Mine was easy though all on a slope gravity fed with the standerd pvc fittings. I didn't even use glue

I'm going to go for a vertical system, trying to ape the ubergro system (you can find them on youtube) . It's the sealing of the ends I'm having problems with, I found some fittings but they're £6 each and I would need 2 for each layer, + the extra bits that would carry the water from one level to the other.