Sort:  

Most people never see them because they pick their radishes when they are small and tender. If you just let them go, they make flowers and then seed pods which are similar (sort of) to snap peas with a radish flavor. I prefer them to the root actually. They are usually a bit more mild and are good raw or lightly cooked if they are picked when young. As they get more mature they tend to get woody.

I discovered radish pods by accident and then looked them up online after and they are a thing. There are varieties of radishes grown just for their longer pods. (Rat tail radish look it up 😀).

I'm not really sure why radish pods are not more popular seeing how tasty and abundant they are.

pods
Pods I grew a couple years ago

How neat! I might have to a let a few mine go and see what they do. Thanks for the great explanation and picture!