You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardening is a Delicious Hobby! #3

in #gardening6 years ago

I see you have lots of plants in containers, @jerrybanfield. Container gardening can really make the process easier -- there's less breaking up and amendment of the soil, less bending over or crouching down, easier to pick a few leaves and make a salad quickly, etc.

Something else that is easy and cool ~ straw bale gardening. Dig 3 or 4 holes with a spade in a bale of straw, fill the holes with potting soil, and put your plants in. As the season progresses, the straw will start to break down and compost, giving the plants some nutrients. And at the end of the season, break the bale apart and use as mulch.

Here I have basil and cilantro growing in a bale last summer. :-)

straw bale garden (2).jpg

Sort:  

That's fun!

Yes, that's funny

Fun... Meaning, enjoy. Not funny like a laugh.

I meant as yours --Its fun. I did not try to make a laugh. In fact, I love gardening and I have a Banana Garden in my village home. I visit my village home and this garden at weekend. May be my word did not fit the sense.

LOL... Clarify it next time... (^_^)

You have a banana garden @selimuddin? We LOVE bananas! In fact, we ARE bananas! :-)
Settin the record straight 300x160.png

Yes, I have. Enjoyed so much your comments full of fun, hahhaaa

Thanks! We would love to see a banana garden some day, full of banana palms.

Yes, @kennyroy ~ It's fun having my plants in a straw bale, and people always commented on it when they saw them. :-)

What a cool idea! It looks nice too. Have you seen the plants thrive?

Yes, @amorrisreports. The plants seemed to love being in the straw bale. I grew herbs there, but I'm thinking tomato plants might like it too, as long as there's lots of sun. The straw holds water well, too, so the roots don't dry out like they often do in plastic or clay containers.