Growing Your Own Food In Cheap Containers In Your Backyard Or On Your Porch.

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Just a video where I am showing what we were doing here for our garden area and some of the things we are using this year. There is one thing in the video I have not talked about in a post yet. I wanted to give you this idea so maybe you could find some in your area and try them out in your container garden.

Did you figure out what it was I have not talked about in a post yet? If you did not figure it out I will tell you. It was the 35-gallon barrels. I found them for a dollar. (Oh, I will be using the barrel halves for tomatoes and some broccoli)There is kinda a theme to my garden this year and it is about using things that can work in the garden and use things that are kinda out of the box ways to do things and also doing it inexpensive as possible.

I know lots of people including some of my family, that say they do not have the room to grow some tomatoes or peppers or broccoli. Their house is full of potted plants but they can not grow food. I do not understand as to why they cannot grow food, they will hang a potted plant on the porch so why not hang a cherry tomato plant on the porch. Put a tomato plant or a pepper plant on their back porch too. Many say it is to expensive to grow their food. I guess this is what really upsets me is the idea people think it is so expensive to grow there own food but spend a small fortune on a potted plant that just grows and produces nothing for you.

All I guess I am trying to say to everyone is go and get something to use as a pot and put a seed in it grow something for you to eat. It is not really that hard to do, it may take some trial and error to get things going right for you but just try. The idea of getting your hands dirty and having something you grew yourself on the table to eat is so fulfilling and makes you want to do more every year. Give it a try and see for yourself. Hope everyone has a great day/night, whatever it is in your neck of the woods. Thanks for your support in reading our posts, upvoting and resteeming our posts.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem!


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel

Sort:  

Bathtubs and now barrel halfs...well grow what you can in what you can fine! As for potted plants, my feeling is that all of these kind of plants need to be editable in some way!

Edible plants for sure. I will try to grow some flowers that will encourage the bee population as well. Should it have a purpose other than being just pretty? I like to grow in every possible way I can, is there something wrong with that?

Nothing wrong with it in my book! Grow Away!!!

LOL. Believe me, I am working on it!! Now if the weather would just help me out some. It has been raining the last couple of days. If I had seed in the ground I would love it.

Good luck, I´ll be following your progress. My growing is far less impressive so you´d be offering some valuable pointers :)