Growing Peace Lilies

in #gardening6 years ago

spath1.png

Peace lilies, also known as Spathiphyllums are an evergreen perennial plant. They are easy plants for beginners as they do not require a lot of water or light to keep alive. As I will generally recommend, better to under-water than over-water if you’re not sure. You can tell if the plant needs water when the leaves begin to droop.

Spathiphyllums have been shown to clear the air of benzene and formaldehyde, both chemicals that can be found in the home.

spath12.png




General care

Indirect light and infrequent watering (once every two weeks in winter, at most once every 7-10 days in hotter/drier periods) will serve you well. Don’t let your spath sit in water, empty out saucers/cache pots after watering. Spaths do not enjoy draughts or extended periods of cold. They also do not like extended periods of direct light. Choose a bright position that isn’t touched by the sun.

Use a liquid fertiliser once a quarter (or whenever you remember, if you’re like me). I generally buy the cheapest/smallest quantity I can and mix in a quarter of a shot glass of fertiliser to 2-3L of water.

Clean the leaves of your spath when dust accumulates. I use a damp tea towel and gently wipe the leaves diagonally, following the natural veins, then down through the centre vein.

spath11.png




Flowering

The new leaves of the spath emerge from the centre of the last leaf. The flower emerges similarly. I first noticed my flower beginning to emerge on 22 November. By 7 December, the flower had completely emerged and was open.

spathgroup.png




Problems

The only problem I’ve experienced with my spath are leaves yellowing, either on the edges or entirely. A bit of liquid fertiliser usually helps stop this from occurring, but you can't fix the damage once it's done. You can also try using rain water instead of tap water, but this is a bit of a nuisance.

You can cut off the yellowing leaves, or you can allow the plant to do its thing (which results in the leaf turning brown and eventually falling off)

spath5.png




My Plant

The variety of spathiphyllum that I grow is a Spathiphyllum Sensation. It’s one of the largest varieties of spathiphyllum with huge green leaves. It has the potential to grow up to 1.8m tall, with leaves 50cm long.

spath1a.png




I'd love to read your comments, hear your thoughts or see your plant photos, so please leave a comment below.

calathea | Steemit Blog

Photos, thoughts and ideas
from the garden of calathea.

Sort:  

Hey calathea, good to see you’re back posting again so soon after your epic introduce yourself blog. Keep up the consistency. Consistency is key!

I really like the way this one flowers. The way the flower grows out of what looks like a new leaf and then BAM, it’s like tricked you, I’m actually a flower!

Keep the content coming! 🙂

Hi @forexbrokr, thank you for checking out my post.
It was a lovely surprise to see a flower appear! I did have an inkling from the start that this "leaf" would be different...

thank you for following and supporting me. I have a plant that is so awesome - a houseplant. I forget the name and don't have a current pic but when it bloomms.... it is so rare to bloom. And mine will soon I think!!!

I hope your plant blooms soon, I’d love to see a photo of it!

I had one ages ago, but the blooms browned and died, even with watering... I might have over-nurtured that one! 0.o

Great to see you posting!

The blooms will always end up browning and dying, nothing can last forever! Don't be too disheartened, it will bloom again if the conditions are right.

Congratulations @calathea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!