You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perennial Foods: Growing Food Security

Perennials are the garden gift that keeps on giving! I never used to know what to do with chives but then someone recommended adding them to salads and I was hooked. I just tasted Sunchokes for the first time last year and I was pleasantly surprised; they're like a giant sunflower seed with the consistency of a sweet potato. I have made rhubarb chutney before but most rhubarb recipes call for heaps of sugar to mask it's tart flavour. I am curious to read about how you preserved yours. -Aimee

Sort:  

They really are a gift!

One thing I love with Rhubarb is to make lemonade - I use honey instead of sugar. I know it's still "sugar" but in my mind honey is goodness. I also chop up and freeze rhubarb. I'll drain the juice to drink and then use the pulp in "banana bread type loaves". There's a slight tartness but the honey in the bread is just enough to balance it.

I have never canned it before, not for any real reason other than I like having it available raw without sugar so I can do what I want with it.

Mmm lemonade! I know sugar isn't great, but we need a little sweetness in our lives, don't we? Plus, honey isn't all bad! Interesting, using the pulp in breads/loaves - not something I would have thought to do. Thanks for sharing. -Aimee