Potato growing experiment 2017 - Part 2

in #gardening7 years ago

See link below for part 1

https://steemit.com/gardening/@cavemanrob/my-potato-growing-experiment-2017

I added another layer to the tower. In the first post I said I used 2 x 10's for the sides, but I was incorrect, these are 2 x 12 boards, now stacked two levels high.


spudtastic growth

I dug down from the ground level about 7 inches, then I added the first layer of 2 x 12, and with the second layer added, this makes about 29 - 30 vertical inches for the potatoes to grow.

I did have some trouble finding enough compost and leaf mold to add to the bed, so It is not 100% full. I literally ran out of chicken manure and had to pull in some leaf mulch from a friends garden to add in.

You can see the marigolds in front didn't do that well. I'm not sure if that has something to do with the wood being too close, and the light not being sufficient to maintain them, or if some enzymes from the potatoes are stunting their growth. I think it is the light situation, but I'm still unsure.

I think they are about ready to start flowering. After they flower and then die off, Ill harvest the potatoes and dry them out and store them for the winter.


box o' spuds

After I harvest the potatoes, I will take the top level off this potato tower, and make two raised beds in the garden. I think I might have to dismantle the entire tower and then re-assemble it to get to all the potatoes inside, but Ill wait until I am sure the potatoes are formed before I tear this thing apart.

I'm pretty surprised I did not run into any issues with blight, and I didn't see one potato bug this season. I think lifting them off the ground helped a lot. I don't use any pesticides or fertilizer, so I'm very happy with the results.

Follow me for the follow-up and the harvest results.

Happy gardening

Sort:  

Hi @cavemanrob, I'll be interested to see what sort of yield you get with this method - should be good.

I've been experimenting recently. Last year I tried growing in soil but building up the covering with straw rather than soil. That worked pretty good.

This year I have been using leafmould as the buildup material - that has produced excellent results.

I'm really hoping the leafmould works great. its nice and fluffy. I'm going to post the harvest on here when I get to pulling the taters out. I started with 9 pieces, but I know a few of them molded before they started to grow.

It's good!

Those are some healthy looking spuds!