You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE OPPORTUNISTIC GARDENER - HOW TO GET FREE ASPARAGUS SEEDS!!!

in #gardening8 years ago

Asparagus is so dang good. Reading your post made me hungry for a plate full. We have a local grocery store that sells bacon-wrapped asparagus, and let me tell you, it is to die for. My only complaint about asparagus is the strong odor it gives your urine. It is a strange and unpleasant side effect of eating this delicious plant. I have read that not everyone gets this side effect.

And I am totally with you on growing sustainable resources. My wife and I were fortunate enough to find an 8 acre piece of property for a cheap price. It is mostly timber and produces so many wild berries I cannot keep up. We also get some nice morel mushrooms, too, on the good years. I planted 40 walnut trees in a stand specifically for a timber harvest in 30 or 40 years, when walnut prices are hopefully sky high, like they already somewhat are.

If you want to let a few asparagus seeds go, I could find some room on the property to start a patch. Thanks for your posts, I really enjoy them.

Sort:  

I can certainly send some seeds your way.

Let me know what your shipping address is in a private chat on https://steemit.chat and I'll get some stuff sent your way!

Thanks for sharing, it sounds like we got a bit in common.