Mega Seedling Update [Gardening]

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

20180223_164924.jpg

Check it out the progress on my #seedlings. In my cover photo you can see the #ginger root growing on the left next to two #pumpkins growing tall and budding. In the middle I have beefsteak #tomato growing. The underside of the tomato #leaves have a rouge red tint.

20180223_164946.jpg

Never had a #seed grown #vegetable make #flowers for me inside the house. This is clearly a male #flower, and will make orange pollen once it opens up. #Pumpkin flowers tend to last only a few days before they die off. If I get a female flower, one with a bulb underneath, I can use the male flower to pollinate it and start growing the actual pumpkin.

Once summer hits, I dare the squirrels to try to damage this armored beast!

cinderella-11.jpg

Cinderella sends her regards. Source

20180217_144020.jpg

Outside I wanted to share this #weed flower. It was one I rescued from our last house, where it grew in the gravel path I walked on. The flowers are very small, but I think they are lovely in the cold winter. They are very hardy, considering that everything else looks dead outside, and we've been getting some snow this past week. Now they grow in our lawn walkway.

It is cold outside, so let's take a look back at what is #growing indoors.

20180223_165007.jpg

#Turmeric on the left is growing nice and steady every day. Ginger is taking its time. Been sprinkling small amounts of #fertilizer on them every couple weeks. Once they start developing new #roots, I think they'll grow much faster.

20180223_165235.jpg

#Peas have grown about three inches tall. Not sure if you can tell in this photo, but the top is bending over where it is starting to #wilt. I pinched off the weak part with my fingers. Most likely it is damage from the cold being near the window. This #plant is really ready to spread out. I'm going to pile in some more soil to fill this cup to give the roots more room to spread. Not much else I can do.

Outside, the sweet peas are somehow growing in a hanging basket in the snow, and they are showing no signs of weakness. Unbelievable.

20180223_165014.jpg

#Cabbage is growing here in this photo above.

Never knew how easy cabbage was to get started. Doesn't seem to care if I push it further away from the light, though it does like to reach towards the light. Super fast grower. Looks delicious already.

20180223_165029.jpg

A new pumpkin is sprouting up on the right.

On the left is Roma tomato. The shorter seedlings are definitely looking like they are losing in the competitive warfare against their bigger neighbors. The one with the seed head has been stuck that way for three weeks. I'll let them continue to grow this way for now. I like nature to compete with itself a little bit. Survival of the fittest will ensure only the healthiest plants make it into my #garden.

20180223_165036.jpg

This is the two types of #arugula I've been growing. The wild arugula is still very small with thin stems. I bet they would do better if sown directly in the dirt. Hence the name wild arugula.

20180223_165044.jpg

Above the #anise is looking like it is making itself at home. The leaves are looking more full sized now. Every once in a while a #leaf #stem grows too long for the thin stem to support, and it wilts down, so I pinch it off and eat it. Yummy #licorice flavor, and very tender green. I could eat this every day. I will be growing much, much more of this for the garden.

To the right of the anise, I have Lady #lavender hiding inside her plastic room. No signs of anything happening in there. Why does she always make me wait for her? I dumped the rest of the seed packet in there to see if any of them will germinate. It's been a month. When will it be that time of month? I guess a true lady never tells.

20180223_165127.jpg

In this photo above, the Rapunzel cherry tomato has a front row seat next to the light bulb. She's going to get a nice green tan by the time Spring rolls around. All the other plants will be very jealous.

20180223_165137.jpg

Who likes banana #peppers? I wouldn't know if i do or not, because they've never made fruit for me before. These three are making slow progress. So glad they sprouted for me early this year. Peppers are so slow to develop in my climate zone.

20180223_165146.jpg

Almost all of the #cilantro has failed. I snip off any ends or leaves that looked weak, yellow, wilted, or browning. The tallest one still has one new leaf forming. As long as it has new leaves forming and the stem stays strong, it will survive. I'm going to cut down on the watering a bit, and hope that helps the roots to beef up. If it gains some vigor and height, then I'll give it a larger pot. Cilantro, even if you don't like the taste is a wonderful pollinator in the garden. Bees and butterflies love it, and aphids hate it. Don't worry, I started growing some more in another pot recently.

20180223_165204.jpg

Here we have #turnips! These were sown just over a week ago, and they sprouted very fast. These make me happy for some reason every time I look at them.

Ever played Super Mario Bros. 2?

tumblr_mqgfz4MpmM1rshtj7o1_500.gif

Source

Yes, I'm looking forward to re-enacting that moment greatly. I'm looking at you squirrels!

20180223_165215.jpg

Here are the #poblano peppers. They are looking very vigorous in the last few days. The tallest one is already the height of the cup. If it gets to be about 5 to 6 inches tall, I'll give it a larger pot to grow in. There is a good chance I can separate these, and have them growing in separate pots. I think these handle transplanting more easily than most vegetables.

20180223_165022.jpg

This little rockstar pictured above is #nicotania, better known as the tobacco plant. It is a perfume hybrid that will have various colors of flowers one day. It recently started developing these big leaves, and I think it is going to jump up any day now.

LightFineGrouper-size_restricted.gif
Source

20180223_165109.jpg

This is my other #tobacco plant I'm growing. It is called Starlight Dancer.

Kind of like me, because I'm always teaching at the ballroom dance studio when it is dark out.

This one is supposed to have sweet white flowers.


Post Valentines Day Bonus:

20180220_104905.jpg

This came from one of my students I teach at the dance studio. Very sweet! So happy with the color choice and all of the #blooms. Three stems too. The box was to help transport it in the car, but I keep it on there so it is less likely to tip over. This is my first #orchid, and I plan to take good care of it.

Does anybody know if orchids bloom more than once in a year? Any tips on pruning to keep the stems looking nice and tall for future flowers?

20180219_090835.jpg

My #bonsai trees are all snuggly warm against the house. Don't want them to freeze up in the snow. In the Spring, I'll be digging up those cuttings on the left to find out which ones took root.

Thanks for viewing my post. Share any thoughts in the comments below. I love rewarding followers, and I'll visit their posts on anything that looks interesting to me. Just drop a link, and watch your post #grow.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

really kawn, if a good post we must kujungi, thank you friend information.

IMG20180224080615.jpg

this picture of my painting on this morning my friend.

Do you do hand embroidery? What does kujungi mean?

his mean kujungi is "visit"
that is indonesian language, but he got typo
the right text is "kunjungi" you can translate that @creativetruth

Thanks. It is good to have people help me with the language when I don't understand. Now it makes sense.

your welcome @creativetruth
i just want to help
I see no one get that language to help you

Pumpkin plant is a plant that very much akar.ini very good, I also new I make a post about pandan leaves,
please see maybe you like.

https://steemit.com/food/@jasonmunapasee/ponan-leaves-and-its-use-6458ed79e2933

Thank you for sharing. I love learning about new plants.

Your welcome,I am also very interested in all your plants.

I managed to take these I thought were nice pics. Hope you want to check them out, they're my babies!

https://steemit.com/flower/@steamdan/20180221t100220982z-post
https://steemit.com/photography/@steamdan/20180224t100423707z-post
https://steemit.com/flower/@steamdan/20180224t095035602z-post
2.jpg
This is a snapback dragon (snapdragon I think, who sold it to me told me it was lavender but I knew that it wasn't at once) and my first baby Jimi!! He'll never catch a squirrel lol

You're right. Definitely no such thing as a snapback dragon (I did a google search and found nothing).

Snapdragons usually make a flower in the shape of a dragon mouth. You can pinch the sides to make the jaws open up. Little bees love crawling inside.

loewenmaeulchen-2782510_960_720.jpg
Source

These ones you bought look like they are more wide open for some reason. Maybe the blooms are starting to wilt. The leaves look like a snapdragon, alright.

What a great bunch of plants you've already got going! Nice gardening! Thank you for the photos and the writeups.
I share your distaste for squirrels. Maybe it's a gardener thing? Grampa hated them. He loved all living things and was a gentle man, except for squirrels.
You're an inspiration! I hope my sprouts do as well as yours are.

Actually I like having squirrels around, just not when they scare the birds, dig up my plants, knock over my pots, and eat my pumpkin buds. I would feed them hors d'oeuvres every day if only that would keep them at bay.

Well animal pests are something I've had to deal with many times in many gardens.
I'm in a 2nd story apartment (luckily with a nice sunny patio) for the first time. No animal pests is one advantage I'm noticing already. Not a lot of other advantages. It's going to be a learning curve! But I'm ready : D

Wow! Don't know which is sweeter! Even the younger seedlings are looking sharp, You're growing very nice vegs over there. Those tomatoes also look very promising!!

You're going to love the orchid, blooming once a year the flowers last very long in bloom! I'm sure you won't have any problem with the pruning as well. Orchids are all about filtered light and humidity with its proper draining, you know the drills! I love to watch them propagate all around an area. But I only have one specie, and hasn't blossomed yet.

The wild flower is beautiful! I have one over here that I call a blue orchid. It has really small flowers, but they catch your attention by its color. I'll try to get a good photo of those and post about wild plants!

I love more than anything the Mario2 mention, it's one of muy favorites (the 3 was AWEsome too), I never finished a single super Mario game, so they're all still on my to do list. For sure I will end all of them with my kids!

You're doing an amazing work, I know you're also having a lot of fun, your posts give that up hahah I'm still working on my writing, but I'm taking a couple that I think are good pics to post! What I don't know much about is the bonsai way! Hope that I can get the hang of it. Here in Venezuela I think I can make very cool flowering ones (But a japanese cherry tree
would be beyond words!).

Take care and have a great week! Again, nice posts!!

IMG20180223110550.jpg

a special image for you

That is so nice. Guess I made an impact on you. The T letters look very exotic to me.

IMG20180223110611.jpg

This new look is all, because this is special for you, sorry jiga is not beautiful

Gardening is my hobby and I love Kitchen gardening because fom a kitchen gardening you always get new and fresh product
another benifit of gardening is that thses vegitables are free from chemicals whish have bed effect on health
you always stay healthy and fresh when you work on a garden
keep sharing you product in your garden and their methods I really impressed from your work hope you are health

Gardening is my hobby from my childhood.Thanks a lot for sharing us some instruction & process about gardening.We introduce various type of plant by your blog.
Thanks @creativetruth
@resteem & follow done.

Awesome work.Keep posting dear

Seed megar is a very good and hopefully bloom well, my friend has made a special post for you @creativetruth thank you.

So many flowers and vegetables are grown by you, sir. Wish I was physically there to visit your garden and have to spend a lot of time. This is just beautiful. You do it as a hobby or business, sir?

Hobby only. I'm sure you have some wonderful gardens and friends who garden nearby you can enjoy this year. Sometimes it is fun to join a local gardening club, as they might tour local gardens, exchange seeds and plants, and have plant sales.

plants are very subut tu friend .. i like same post you friend

I like that steem made the same post for you too. Kidding.

I do not know how your friends say ... but I will always follow you here friends

Thanks! I hope you get some followers and rewards. Making new friends is the best.

plants are very fertile tu friend .. i like same post you friend

I like that steem made the same post for you too. Kidding.

Hehe RIP squirrels. I wish I only had to deal with squirrels when it comes to things eating and damaging crops/flowers. How does she handle bears and cats?

I learn something new here. I guess I just never questioned where pumpkin seeds came from at least the process of getting them. That seems like a very interesting process. I look forward to seeing how the pumpkins go.

Indoor-gardning very nice and beautiful i like your work and follow you

yes friend is hand embroidery, meaning visit, I mean if my friends love it go to my post once, thanks

yes friend is hand embroidery, meaning visit, I mean if my friends love it go to my post once, thanks

IMG20180223110550.jpg

a special image for you

hmmm interesting

Kitchen gardening. It's nice.
WHAT AN IDEA SIR JI.....!

Actually this my bedroom. I get to wake up to look at the progress every morning.

I want tobacco =D
you have a great garden @creativetruth
you not have a potato ?

Never tried growing potatoes. I would need a very big pot or growing bed just for growing potatoes, because you have to dig them out to harvest. We have a small amount of land I am allowed to garden in.

yeah you right, you need a big pot to growing potatoes, oh you have a small land to garden in there ? you can use the land for potatoes in there ?
potatoes is good, i like potatoes, you like it ?

You can grow them in a bag with holes in it! Have you tried to grow carrots or radishes? I have seeds here but I'm afraid the weather is too dry to grow them well!

It's amazing, I'm beyond inspired seeing as much people advocated to grow not just food, but beautiful plants too! Cheers to you guys.

I have a few grow bags, but I'm trying to limit my growing space to only three again this year.

My parents always complain that I grow too many plants. They actually buy plants to try to put them in my way.

Congratulations @creativetruth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Steemitboard rocks! These guys are one of my favorites to vote as witness.