You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Community! DO YOU GARDEN? HELP The EcoKnowme Help you, Help others, while growing your Own Medicine/Business.

in #gardening7 years ago

Indeed and not something i take lightly, which is also why the last decade has provided many good conversations about the topic that have challenged my presumptions. This article is meant to focus on a particular class of Tonic herbs and medicinals which while many are perennial but have not been considered invasive from what I have heard. It will be up to the individuals doing the exchanges. I am not able to enforce anything, only to provide guidelines and worthwhile debate here for people to consider the risks and possibilities. If Ginseng turns out to be invasive in one place but a endangered in another, what is the right course of action?
How do I retort to your points when I get the impression you contradict yourself. My point was to say that whether we call something a weed or an invasive is relative to time and our perspective. Dandeliion was brought from Europe as a medicinal and salad green and because there is little demand for it anymore, it takes over our lawns and competes with Natives.
"I'm 100% for using weeds, "weeds" are awesome"
VS
"at the end of the day invasive species are high up on the list of greatest threats to global biodiversity"
I use terms like weeds and invasives interchangeably since they are just plants and if we like it, it stays, if we don't or we brought it, it goes. Which is it? 100% or worst idea ever?
I think the easiest idea would be to request that everyone comply with their countries rules and laws regarding seeds and plant material. I'm in Asia. Surrounded by ecosystems that have been replaced with Eucalyptus plantations, Lantana, morning glory and a few others I'm sure are not from here. The Eucalyptus is not going anywhere and spreads, but it serves a purpose and can be managed. The lantana fixes phosphorous after fires and provided nectar for bees, the morning glory is just pretty but it's vines are also useful. Willows in Australia were extremely effective for helping rivers recharge and for erosion control. but since people don't like the idea of non natives, they remove them and the rivers get worse.
Much of this is common sense. The ideas I am presenting are just to encourage the uncommon practice of questioning our beliefs about the why and what.
Things change with or without us. We do what we can to maintain the balance, but we need to be prepared for changes when the come and see the opportunity. Plastic products are everywhere, but thankfully cannot reproduce. GMOs are everywhere.... frankly, with the world headed the way it is... I'd be pleased to find Eucalyptus (going to collect some for great firewood) Blackberries to eat.
I guess with the US having a rekindled debate about who is native and who doesn't belong... it occurred to me that the issue might be in our heads. Not nature. Philosophical again I know... but the diametric self opposition just didn't make sense to me. Which point should I take away the black or the white? Or you wanna join me in complexity and nuance?
As an ecosystem progesses towards climax it becomes more stable and diverse and most of the pioneer species are replaced and succeeded by new species that otherwise could not get established without their initial work.
Are you familiar with Gaviotas? They returned the Rainforest to what had become a desert through the use of a monoculture of Pine... in Columbia. Don't know if those were strict natives, but they served the purpose of creating an initial habitat that could be improved by the influx of birds animals and plants that reintroduced the rainforest species back to where they otherwise would take much longer to return naturally.
In Permaculture you design food forests and mimic the stages of progression to help speed up establishment. Chop and drop, support species. etc etc
in 5-7 years you have a stable established food forest that you can easily manage.
But for the record. Do not bring species that may cause problems in your community, ecosystem, country or conscience. Do your research, follow the rules and laws and just do your best. I could provide a list of species I am thinking about and historical examples of how they are now a part of the ecosystem for better or worse (Chinese railway workers bring goji berries to the SW desert of USA, now people go on pilgrimage to find them) But I thank you for the countering (nice after getting the 'nice post, follow for follow! hahaha) So please, have at it. This idea should get bashed about for a while and the more heads put together the better, so no need to apologize. Without my grin or tone, it is hard to see how much I truly appreciate your insights. I am just one person online.

Sort:  
Loading...