A Flowering Borage Plant In Winter

in #gardening6 years ago

b.jpg

It's one of the flowering plants that stood the harsh weather here. It didn't sleep at all though I was expecting it to. It still has buds at this time of the year. Its growing on the same pot I let my Passion plant grow. I guess, I'd be doing much of these next year. I'd be planting more of them under a shade because I could actually use those flowers in a salad specially if I have a lot of them.

c.jpg

Truth is .. I didn't put it there, it probably just fell while I was planting the seeds last year and grew there. I let it and somehow it's the last one standing. The other Borage plants withered on their own.

d.jpg

The tree and the leaves of the ever climbing passion plant above it must have served as its shelter from the rain so it has managed to survive. It has probably laughed at the ice when it snowed here.

Unfortunately, the code red windstorm got its way on it. Oh well, no bees to pollinate it anyway.

a.jpg

Just from this plant alone, I got these seeds. It has flowered a lot and is still flowering. I could have gotten more seeds have I not missed them falling off the ground. I won't be surprised if one or two grows in the same pot this year.

d5.jpg

Of course, I'd be planting more this year, mostly beside the cucumber plant in my veggie garden. Can you guess why?

d1.jpg

This? Am not letting it go yet. How could I? It's doing its best to bring me flowers even though it's not even getting pollinated. The plant itself is still very healthy though the blooms have been scorched by the last storm. It's still fighting so why? It reminds me of those who posts here and do their best despite the lack of attention they are getting.

d2.jpg

I have a confession to make, I almost posted just the thumbnail shot and the title. I think the most of you know I return ups. I've been seeing posts with one blurry picture and a sentence or just a picture with a title. Where's the value in that would you please tell me cause I just can't seem to find any?

d3.jpg

Okay... some do give value - those that gives new info like a place I've never been to or a certain species of some living organism I've never seen. It's hard to cast an upvote on those posts that don't cause it feels like I'm committing injustice to those who are doing their best coming up with a post that doesn't just give value but also coming up with something new and creating them with much effort it shows in their posts.

d4.jpg

Are you living in a country with four seasons? Have you any plant in your garden that's flowering now? Which one?

This content's 100% mine. I took and retouched first set of the pics with my Nikon D3400 + AF-P NIKKOR 18-55mm and the colored ones with my Samsung Galaxy A3, 2016.



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.
.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

Wow good luck to you!

Ik heb helemaal geen groene vingers, maar deze vind ik echt mooi.😄

de bloemen zijn eetbaar!
ik doe ze ook soms in de icecubes nog mooier :D

Leuk voor een Gin Tonic.👌

Wow ! very nice and amazing photo shoots with beautiful natural scenes .I personally liked it thanks for sharing
I loved every thing about that post!

What beautiful photos, we have four seasons, but nothing wintery grows, because the snow lies 30 cm, if you can dig it, then only the leaves of the strawberry, it hibernates well under the snow.

thank you very much for the beautiful emegin

Outstanding photography good job carry on bro im still here as a your big supporter thanks for lovely post for sharing with us @englishtchrivy

wow great photography..

We have 3. Cold, heat season and warmth.
That's December, march and july

I love your posts. They make sense, are decent and very very educative. Ma'am

fantastic photography.
and nice story.

wow amazing,,thanks for the new blog. that is great and nice photography.

Winterakonietjes, madeliefjes en sneeuwklokjes heb ik al gezien, maar niet in mijn tuin.

aw! sneeuwklokjes zijn idd wakker!

Eerste akonietjes:

prachtig! toch!

wow! amazing photography and you are a great photographer..

all of your post is always so informative,so i regularly follow your blog. love to read it...........

beautiful flowers

The flowers are very beautiful to see. Looks like a lot of cactus. But its gardens will be very good.

The scenery is very beautiful I like it very much

best hobby is planting , little seeds become beautiful plants

That's a beautiful flowering plant! I live in Finland and we have four seasons. Right now it's so cold that nothing is flowering! :/

aw! stay warm!

They sdo sure look great though and moreover you are lucky then the fact of the plant seem to be in great condition now .The flower does indeed looks great !

This flower is very beautiful, I am very fascinated to see it. what's your secret when you put this photo on ,,,?
@englishtchrivy

Marvelous!! This is indeed very creative. Good post.

Its indigo color make him more beauty, like you

Thank you for posting dear @englishtchrivy.

Splendid photographs and gardening write-up.

Do you plan to plant Borage beside the cucumber hoping for visitation from bees?

Yes....indeed...four seasons....nothing is flowering except for paperwhites/narcissus planted inside.

Re.....One offs......What to say.....you are correct in that it does not seem to be of the same value......I struggle with the concept...yet I know there is a place for it......however quality should always be present.

Wishing you a lovely evening.

Cheers mon ami.

TY....TY....

thank you mon ami

yes for the bees and something more clue - it does something to the cucumber :D

ah .. the bulbs are always ahead of everything ^ ^
enjoy them !

well, when I first came here a lot of people have been posting about "giving value" specially Ned
later it's more of "post and upvote bitches! " that feel if you know what I mean
like what are we to them? their minions? lol
sorry I have to use that b word but some posts blatantly include that

No worries.....it is real....so feel free to say it. ^__^

....hmmm....does something to the cucumber?....how about...provision of shade?

We will just keep plugging..... ^__^

Regarding...one offs.....I would enjoy seeing your last photograph at Zappl or Steepshot either one.....it is lovely, lovely.

Cheers mon ami.....

thanks for understanding!

I haven't used any of those but am curious
maybe one day with memes I think those are ideal

Impresionante buenas fotos, sobre todo el nivel de detalles,tuviste bastante paciencia me gusto tu post saludos

Beautiful flower
I love it

Thank you for showing us very beautiful flowers.
I am very proud of you for being able to grow the wasted interest to grow back.
The flowers are beautiful flowers and very beautiful colors
Thank you
I am from indonesia ... my upvote
Regards
@iskandarawe

I think the third picture was very opaque than the other pictures ...

How beautiful ... In a garden can plant two plants at once .. Good work

Maybe I understand from your story .. But try to read hundreds of times ... Growing 2 plants in one garden is rare, I admire you .. You can do it, happy winter

Wow! Like the use of a small bit of color on the black and white background. Best regards

@Englishtchrivy this is just the name of extraordinary works of photographs that are very fascinating anyone to look at it

Really nice photos. I always like to see some unexpected flowers, which were left behind. And I agree with you. I don't know what's the point of 10 posts a day without explanation. I use the short ones just when I need to take some time for the followers and reply to comments I got. I just want to be present. Keep up the good work!

thank you !

I think for a newbie its understandable after all..we need to get used to this first
but for an oldie .. I don't know what to say I'd rather park my keypad before something nega slips

Exactly! I am not here for a long time yet, and I know I still have to learn a lot. Byt for all the newbies is @gold84's series of chapters very good start.

@englishtchrivy, very nice photo shoots with beautiful natural scenes .I personally liked it . Upvoted and resteemed

Good evening, @englishtchrivy. I never cease to be surprised to Your garden and Your plants. Your climate is conducive to such an early bloom. I live in North-West Russia. We have now everything looks very different. Today we visited our garden. In our region had a heavy snowfall and we decided to check how the changes affect our fruit trees in the garden. Here's how it looked today.
DSC02608.JPG
All our plants are still hidden under the snow. Until flowering should take a very long time. It is about the month of may. Therefore I have great pleasure looking at Your photos. Thank you!

aw! stay warm!
that's beautiful to see though
i love what the earth looks like on snowy days ^ ^

wo... very nice picture.. &.awsome post...i love your post.. thank for sharing..dear....@englishtchrivy

this is quite extraordinary wow looks magical

this is super wonderful post great photography :)

you made those flowers which i don't see often more beautiful that's the creativity of talented people :)

Steemit is full of all kinds of posts and this is the freedom we get from this network.
Agree or not, true values survive, so here we are :))
Btw great macro :)

exactly!
thanks belle!

borage is very close to cucumbers for the pollination of bees. I also put basil to protect oidium and nasturtiums to repel the aphids.
At the moment I also have the biurrache that flowers and rosemary.
I'm new on steemit for a month, I share photos for the contest and I started a series on gardening is my job and my passion.
To share my knowledge with people who like to garden and those who want to discover this wonderful nature.

well this has made my day more amazing awesome post with such flower photography its so nice to see