Sort:  

Very nice! It will be interesting to see the variety of different apples your seedlings produce. Coming from a Gala, they have some good genetics. But apple seeds don't have the same genetic mix as their parents. By planting a lot of them, you increase your chances of getting something worth keeping. And even if some trees don't produce quality apples, they may still make good rootstock that works well in your soils and climate. The nice thing is that no effort is lost -- you can graft cuttings from your best trees onto the rootstock of the types that aren't such good producers, so your time investment still has a payoff. And your trick of bending branches down has really worked well for me. Happy apple growing!

Very important reminder. Johnny Appleseed planted the now world famous American grafted strains not by purpose, but because any and all apples could be used for making apple cider... ;)

@id-entity thank you for sharing that.
I plan to have mine fresh and if they happen to bear a great lot, I'd be sharing them with friends or making apple cider or juice out of them.

That's a good reminder! I've never run across any "bad" apple, really. But I have come across a lot of apples that struggle with disease. Disease resistance has become a big factor in my choice of what apples I keep growing - and one that Johnny didn't have to deal with. Apples did so well in those early days of European settlement, because the apple diseases just weren't here --- yet. They eventually got here and then there was some real hardship, because folks weren't prepared.

Johnny was Masanobu Fukuoka kind of guy: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masanobu_Fukuoka

Appletrees grown from seed are naturally more resistant and adaptive than the clone combos. A teacher in the gardening school where I hanged around for a while was also very much into seed growing appletrees.

PS: If you are into a very old/very new age trick, they say that if you hold the seed for a while in your mouth befofe planting, the fruits of the plant friend will share the information field of your body and become personally designed health food. Hereabouts the traditional way to sow e.g. rye and barley was to spit it. :)

I guess he was, at that!

@haphazard-hstead
cheers! grafting would definitely be useful!
@opheliafu as what @haphazard-hstead wrote - you could graft a stem of your fruiting apple to that of the one that is not fruiting yet or you could trick it that it is already fruiting by stretching its branches horizontally. Just make sure that there is just one stem leader on top and that the tree have at least a maximum of 8 main branches since they are still considerably young. Cheers to all the apple growers :)

Excellent how to!

Thanks for going further with exposing people to this idea!

@papa-pepper thanks! I'm glad you liked it :)
I hope it helps you planting your apple seeds.

You provided some additional information that may indeed be very helpful!

Thanks for that.

Wow, great post! I did essentially this with some lemon seeds this year and have 3 lemon trees growing right now.

@justtryme90 thank you and congratulations with your lemon trees. I have manage to grow some lemon, tangerine, orange and blood orange but I didn't put them in the fridge, I didn't know it would actually work with them, too as those are tropical fruits.
I did peel their seeds off and just put them in the ground sometime in February and as fast as 2 weeks they germinated. It's a new information for me that stratification actually works with tropical seeds. Intrigued now.

Maybe I got lucky? I used a bunch of seeds and only got a few to sprout.

Excellent follow-up article, @englishtchrivy! Would you consider joining @papa-pepper on the Operation Translations for this article?

It would mean spanish language readers would have also a follow-up reading for CUANDO LO INCREIBLE SE TORNA IRRELEVANTE - Lamentando la Obvia Desconexion de las Civilizaciones Modernas y Probablemente Perdiendo $324.000

@traducciones - translate it to which language? Dutch? Tagalog? Korean?

Spanish.

@traducciones I'm sorry I was dead tired from a great party last night so I didn't really understand the question.
Yes, of course, you may translate it go ahead and thank you already @ traducciones.
If you need the direct links for the pics buzz me in the steemit chat I have the same name.

Thank you for allowing this.

Operation Translation is growing and I am currently working on an update post about it.

Looks like I will be mentioning you in back to back posts!

I link your article and the translation too.

Oh wow @papa-pepper how can I not - it's helpful so why not. Yes, you may - works for me, too. Thank you very much as well.

Thank you @englishtchrivy! I´ll let you known when it's ready.

Here the spanish translation of your article:
Cómo Cultivar Tus Propios Manzanos Desde La Semilla

Thanks for this great post Up voted and followed

I have yet to try this because I live in Florida and have not seen ONE apple tree in the area. Don't they thrive better when they have a cold season? I come from Upstate New York where apple orchards are everywhere. I miss it.

@merej99 yes, they do thrive and grow better in colder places but there's a this guy who grows Anna Apples in Florida and sells them. There is hope so you could either buy already grown apples or grow your own from seeds?

my ultimate goal is to have Asian pear trees! I had seeds but my fridge killed them as it never maintained a steady temperature - so they literally froze then thawed...then rotted. :( I'll try again when I have my own piece of land where I can grow food and frolic at will :)

I wish you all the best to achieve your goal @merej99.

I have two apple trees, both 5 years old (approx). 1 has no fruit- it doesn't flower. The other is covered in apples- all ready to be picked, Yum! There is nothing quite like picking an apple from your own garden.

Johnny Appleseed thanks you and @papa-pepper.

Thanks for sharing this! I've always been fascinated by gardening and growing things from seed.

@rebeccamorgan It's always amazing how articles could make us bump into each other and find out we're not alone at what we do. Cheers!

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

Superb post @englishtchrivy!
I remember this I think in the 5th grade at biology class I learned how to do this and I was so happy.
When you grow something, you feel ...like ...you created life, even if it is small you feel content.
PS: I told you in the last coment that I canot upvote with 100%, now finally I can so Upvoted with 100% power. Steem on !

love this post thanks

this is a great reminder of how easy it is to get started gardening or starting a nursery. even though only 1 out of every 20 might be a "great" eating apple...you are doing more good than you know by continuing on and improving every species of apple. Plus you are having fun, and if you have children, you can teach them part of the cycle of life. It's therapeutic to grow things, helpful for the next generation of humans. It also shows an optimism for the future. It solidifies a belief that you and people who will be here after you can enjoy literally "the fruits of your labour"

@cavemanrob well said thank you I couldn't agree more. I don't have children but who knows if we get to leave this earth the next owner of this house may have one and hopefully they enjoy every tree in here.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

To all 115 Steemians who upvoted this post and everyone else who's written their comments below, please know I wholeheartedly appreciate all your support!