The sun is on fire!

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

Are you all bored yet? I know I just keep showing my spiky friends, but I can't help it. They grow and bloom and I am a proud momma :)

Parodia concinna


Parodia scopa notocactus cactus flower 3.jpg

I got this one in Lidl. It happens that they have those nice cacti there. It was big, round and so green! And it was pretty cheap too. So I took it home, repoted it to a nice clay pot and it started to shrink.
I know that those supermarket plants are heavily fed and pumped to grow fast and be ready to sell. And I was ready for some shrinking... but boy.. it looks like a dry apple on a bad hair day! Poor thing.
Even though the change was probably big for him it decided to bloom. This is the very first flower and and it doesn't seem to be properly open. Maybe needs a bit more sun.. dunno.
There are 3 or 4 more buds to come, so I will enjoy it for quite a while.

Parodia scopa notocactus cactus flower 2.jpg

Parodia scopa notocactus cactus flower 4.jpg

This baby is native to Uruguay, Rocha, Lavalleja, Maldonado. Likes to grow on grassland which only tells me I should probably shade it a bit more and maybe give a bit more water too.

Parodia scopa notocactus cactus flower 5.jpg

And the flowers are just huge! Bright yellow with those fiery tips. I google some more photos but I didn't see any with the extra colour on the petals. Now I wonder if it's normal or the flowers are broken and the next one will all yellow as it should be.
Either way it is a beauty!

Parodia scopa notocactus cactus flower 1.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/22, 1/320, ISO500)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

This post had received 5.00% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Nice photos! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not bored yet, cacti are always interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good! There is more...mooooore to come :D

a beauty!