You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Tater And Mater Testament

in #gardening • 4 years ago

I can't drink coffee much anymore so I am on gunpowder green tea - British.

You make me super jealous seeing your tractor.
I have tractor envy... 😄

Those "seed" potatoes are huge. The plants are going to be pretty intense with that much to start with. How tall do you let them get before burying again? I haven't been lucky in my attempts so I just plant and let them go, hoping the gophers don't abscond with them.

Sort:  

Ooh, I like tea too. All kinds, although I’m super partial to double bergamot earl grey.

Tractor Envy, lol, that sounds serious! We’ve had our beast for a long time now. One day my husband got mad, drove to town, and a week later John Boy was delivered, lol. Best fit throwing result ever!

Those seed potatoes we’re the largest I’ve ever had, it seriously didn’t look like I cut them, but I did! When they get a foot or so of growth on them I bury them up til only a couple inches of plant is showing. I usually do that twice and I hit them with fish and kelp emulsion right before they bloom. Tend to get pretty good yields that way.

The cats and I have an understanding about those evil potato stealing gophers, lol