You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Community! DO YOU GARDEN? HELP The EcoKnowme Help you, Help others, while growing your Own Medicine/Business.

I have been doing alot of research lately about wild edibles and for medicinal use, and have concentrated on Pain relievers or pain killers. Wild lettuce is where I am at. I love plantain for making a poltuce for my kids mosquito bites and scraps. Thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

Thank you for Commenting! Do you ever collect wild mushrooms? You are in Ontario no? Do you have a favorite Seed supplier or Nursery? I like Richters personally. :)

I am in Ontario. Sadly it is a smaller community so the only real source of seed purchasing is TSC. But they are not too bad for their quality of seed. I usually harvest my own or buy online from Vessey. No I have not collected Mushroom's yet. I am currently studying which are safe and which are not in my area. I am up in the Algonquin Park area so lots to pick from. I also am researching and experimenting with growing my own mushrooms.

Polypores on trees are the best place to start. ganoderma applanatum (artist conk) is easy to identify (good for staph and e coli specifically, but an overall good immune booster) Turkey tail grows everywhere. Chaga you might find, but personally the over harvesting saddens me. Cultivation of fungi I recommend you get your confidence up with Garden Giant (AWESOME FOR VEGGIES plus you get twice the harvest from the same area!) and Oyster can be grown on coffee grounds. Turkey tail is also extremely easy to grow and if you get your confidence up... Lion's Mane and Reishi are divine. TSC is surprisingly good (compared to the Agrochemeyseeds I get here) but I know what you mean... thank god for mail order!
Oh and you might even be able to get someone to show you what 'Shrimp of the woods' looks like some day, you can batter them and they taste just like popcorn shrimp!