Birthday Bromeliad & more - Gardeningchef

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

BD06.JPG


Hello all,

It's my birthday today! This lovely bouquet of flowers was picked for me straight from the garden this morning, a beautiful birthday gift. We enjoyed a slice of delicious, home made carrot cake for breakfast - not usual breakfast food but when its my birthday I have to treat myself!


BD01.JPG


Yesterday we went to the market and there was an eye-catching potted plant stall that I hadn't seen in previous weeks. After looking at the selection on offer I came away with a Vriesea splendens - otherwise called Feather of India. Happy birthday to me I thought!


BD04.jpg

BD03.JPG

BD05.JPG

BD02.jpg


The Vriesea is part of the Bromeliad family, native to Tropical America. There are more than 200 varieties of Vriesea, known for their long-lasting flowers.

Research tells me the Vriesea is an indoor plant, and must stay out of direct sunlight to protect the leaves from scorching. Interestingly the best way to water it is by placing the water (ideally filtered, bottled or rain water) directly into the cup shape in the center of the plant, not into the soil as you would with most plants. This is a way of mimicking how rain water would fall naturally into the plant in a rain forest. If treated incorrectly it can go years without flowering, so I will endeavour to do all the right things to keep the flowers coming.


BD07.JPG


The hibiscus bush is flowering today, I can see more buds ready to pop so it will be full of flowers any day now. I love the garden in Autumn!

I hope you are all enjoying your Sunday, wherever you may be!

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

Hola, Feliz cumpleaños, sus imágenes son muy bellas, las Bromelias son realmente hermosas, son representantes del mes de agosto, tienen su origen en América del Sur y Central y son muy delicadas, debes tratarla con muchos cuidados para que floreen, disfruta tu Cumpleaños, bello regalo.

Hello, Happy birthday, your images are very beautiful, the Bromeliads are really beautiful, they are representatives of the month of August, they have their origin in South and Central America and they are very delicate, you must treat them with a lot of care so that they bloom, enjoy your Birthday , beautiful gift.

Muchas gracias @carmenanglada! No sabia que representan el mes de agosto, espero que siga contenta este mes y los que estan por venir. Lo cuidare al maximo para que siga asi de bella!

Hello, isn’t amazing how steemit has brought us all together here, first; let me congratulate you on your special day, it’s a day of love, gratefulness and joy for you, now that you’ve got another big family from steemit, I’m glad to join the vibe of your birthday! Happy birthday dear @gardeningchef. For those flowers, they’re lovely, please remember to take care of them just as you’ve promised. Enjoy your day and keep loving, many more year for you. I am a friend @zealx, I’m not good in writing posts, I enjoy reading other people post and commenting on them. Have a lovely Sunday evening.

Nice to meet you @zealx and thank you so much for your well wishes! It's true that Steemit is a lovely big family from all over the world. You should post more, I see you do drawing. You should post some of your latest work :) hope your Sunday was relaxing!

Wow what beautiful flowers , HAPPY BIRTHDAY @gardeningchef!!!!!! that’s a lovely bromeliad 😍.
I wish you a super happy birthday doing the things you love to do. Your photos are their usual superb quality of course.I always enjoy looking at you ur posts, there is something extra satisfying about such professional quality that makes reading your posts a very special experience. !!! ❤️🤗🦋🌈💛🌴🍀

Thank you very much @sallybeth23 - I am going to be planting some more veggies in the garden this afternoon, that will be fun! I appreciate your kind words as always :) I hope you are having a great day!

Happy Birthday Beautiful @gardenchef ❤💛💚💙💜 It's great you are celebrating by enjoying things you love on this special day. That cake looks yummy!! Life is so much better because of beautiful flowers!! Have fun planting more seeds later today! Birthday Blessings your way!! 🎂❤🌺

Thanks so much @yogajill! It's lovely to have the day to do as I please. I am lucky my birthday is a Sunday this year ;) beautiful flowers always make life better, I totally agree! I shall be posting about my planting soon too. Thank you for your heartwarming wishes, I hope you are having a blessed day!

I hope your day's been a 2onderful blessing. I am curious what you got up to planting? My day has been filled with a ton of healing. This is a powerful moon upon us 🙂🦋❤🌺💜🎂💚

In the end I planted some peas, sweet peas, purple sprouting broccoli, carrots, parsnips & radishes. I will be planting some herbs this week too :D happy to hear you had a positively healing day!!

Hi GC!
Have wonderful BIRTHDAY! - beautiful pictures - thanks for sharing!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Cheers @icedrum! Glad you liked the photos. Have a lovely day!

Happy Bday to you! Feliz cumpleaños😊🎈🎁🎂 that carrot cake looks so good send a slice please it's my favorite!😁😁😁😁

Muchas gracias! Carrot cake is the best right? There is still some left if you want a slice :D

Happy birthday dear gardeningchef >>>>>Beautiful flower. Nice sharing dear.

Thank you @fatima92 - I am surrounded by beautiful flowers at the moment. Very blessed! Hope you are having a wonderful Sunday :)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!!
I see you had beautiful flowers.
The cake must have been delicious, too bad I'm so far away! AH

Thank you @archeothot! The cake was absolutely perfect, as are the flowers. I am very lucky!

Happy Birthday sweet girl!! It looks like you had a very nice day! This is what birthdays are about! I love the flowers and I'm sure that the carrot cake was delicious.. Breakfast or not, you can do whatever you want when it's your birthday!! :)

Thanks so much Martina! It's true, there are no rules on your birthday. The cake was yummy and my day was amazing. I am a lucky girl :D

Hi @gardeningchef,
Your post "Birthday Bromeliad & more - Gardeningchef" hast just been Resteemed !!! 😉😉😉
I'll continue it as long as you are with me..


😄😄😄 Unfollow @tow-heed to stop this service😝🙂😝

Congratulations @gardeningchef! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!