My first greenhouse project!

in #gardening6 years ago

Last summer I decided that I wanted to grow my own veggies so I purchased a greenhouse kit and got to work. I first wondered how I would grown stuff in the winter without loosing my crop to the cold. I did some research and discovered a way to achieve this without paying an arm and leg to the power company. Its called, "Poor Man's Geothermal". Long story short, I dug a hole 5 feet deep that is the same dimensions as my greenhouse @ 9x14. I ran 100 feet of 4inch corrugated drain pipe. I installed a inline fan and filter on one end to pull in 50 degree air into the greenhouse. We had a few 27 degree nights and it stayed around 40 degrees in the greenhouse. I then built two Hydroponic/Aeropinic containers and started to grow lettuce and Spinach. I am new at all of this and just got started. I am going to document my journey and I invite you to join me. Lets do this!!!!.IMG_0199.jpgIMG_0197.jpgIMG_0196.jpgIMG_0136.JPGIMG_0117.JPGIMG_0193.JPG

Sort:  

Great looking GH, look forward to seeing some more on it!

Congratulations @growyourown! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @growyourown! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!