You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Move Over, Pluots! Spice Zee Nectaplums are My New Favorite Fruit

For me, the question would be

  • how it holds up to the cold rains of springtime, common in the Pacific Northwest, that brings blossom blast and kills all the young fruit,
  • can it delay flowering so it won't get tricked by a mid-length warm spell between those cold rains, and
  • how does it handle other disease, like canker.

I'v heard that plouts are better on all those counts, compared to apriums. If I wasn't Haphard Homestead, I'd be Running Plum Farms, because plums do so well here. But apricots are a real challenge for folks that don't want to spray every week, all winter and spring.

So I'm interested in your strange stone fruit creations, lol. But I want them to be easy guests! ; ) Enjoy your fruit, every bite! :D

Sort:  

Check out raintreenursery.com They're in WA state and have some great choices for the rainy NW.

That's where I've gotten a lot of my fruit trees - Raintree and One Green World. For peaches, the Curlfree peach and the Charlotte peach have allowed me to grow peaches without spraying. And a lot of plums do great. But we are all still searching for a good PNW apricot!