You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Oregon Curlfree Peach Tree - A Review for Tree Tuesday

In general, peaches will do well in drier and sunnier conditions. Eastern Washington is some great fruit-growing country! Your county extension office probably has some recommendations for varieties that do well in your area -- even without spraying. And the folks at One Green World in Oregon, that sell this variety, probably know how it does in east of the Cascades, too. I'll let you know about another variety, Charlotte, next Tree Tuesday. It's a nice peach, too. Then again, my grandmother just threw peach pits out into the garden with her kitchen scraps, and always had peach trees and peaches. No named varieties, just seedlings. Most of them were pretty good, too. But that was in Missouri, where they peach leaf curl wasn't such a problem.

Sort:  

I grew up in Joplin haha. Actually quite a few homesteaders from Missouri here on Steemit it seems :) THanks for the info

There sure are a lot from Missouri -- and Arkansas, too. I hope you get a chance to meetup with some folks here on Steemit! My family lived in southeast Kansas when I was a young kid. Folks would drive over to Joplin for cheap gasoline -- 18-25 cents a gallon! It's funny to think how far my parents drove for 6 cents a gallon.