You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE OPPORTUNISTIC GARDENER - HOW TO GET FREE ASPARAGUS SEEDS!!!

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Nice article! That's the way to be opportunistic. Seeds give such a great return and wild-gathered seed is overlooked so much.

Fall is a great time for spotting asparagus along the roadsides -- their ferny fronds turn such a bright yellow, they are noticeable at 60 mph. When I lived in Michigan, where the wild asparagus is as common as in Wisconsin, I kept a notebook with maps and then put bits of flagging in the weeds where I wanted to find the emerging asparagus spears in the springtime. But if you are going to be in one place for awhile, asparagus is a great perennial crop to grow, too - so trouble-free and undemanding. You will have quite the asparagus farm, with all those seeds! And nice thinking about the magnolias, too!

I'm adding the #foraging tag, too. If you use that tag instead of forage, I'll send this over to SteemTrail and it will be easier to track it in the @foraging-trail (which I hope will finally be setup real soon). Thanks.

Sort:  

Thanks @haphazard-hstead!

It's amazing how many wild plants one can identify at 60-70 mph once you are familiar with them.

It's almost worse than texting and driving sometimes! (LOL)

I drive into the absence in front of me.
Focus, always focus, on the right-of-way.
The right-of-way, roadside, ditch side.
Land of opportunity.
Not flotsam, nor jetsam, but flora -
And fauna, too, truth be told.
-- An impromptu poem by HH, Haphazard Homestead ; )

I like it.

Upvote for poetry I can relate to!

Thanks! I figured you might have those tendencies. ; )