My Flower Gardens - The Blooms Just Keep Coming!

in #gardening6 years ago

20180516_185445.jpg

Things are just blooming nonstop around here! First it was the peonies doing their thing:

20180516_185442.jpg

I dug these up from our old house in town. I dug up everything I could get my hands on from that place as we lost it to the bank and I wasn't about to share my bounty with them! I have one pink and 5 or 6 white ones in the south house shade garden. I also have several I planted at our gate, but the soil is super rocky over there and they have never done well. I will probably be moving those sometime this fall.

20180516_185420.jpg

20180516_185414.jpg

Also blooming is this flower I got from my aunt. I can't remember the name of it right now!!! It even has a tag, but the writing has weathered away. Can anyone help? They are in my south driveway shade garden. I actually have two clumps, but one is much smaller and doesn't bloom as much. They may actually need moved as well.

20180516_143016.jpg

20180516_143038.jpg

20180516_143029.jpg

This is my spiderwort! It is not the native kind found here in Missouri. This is a variety I bought from a greenhouse a few years ago. Since it isn't native, and I never find the good stuff anywhere I hike, I will not be doing a Native Ozark Wildflower post on it. Enjoy regardless! These are in the south driveway sun garden.

20180526_085821.jpg

20180514_071126.jpg

20180526_085804.jpg

Here is another I lost the original tag for and can't read the one I made anymore. It's very tiny. The flower stalks are thinner than my pinky and about 18" tall. These are in the south driveway shade garden.

20180526_094737.jpg

20180526_094733.jpg

20180526_094729.jpg

Last but not least are the Bear's double Asiatic lilies! Aren't they awesome?! She got them 3 years ago as a Valentine gift and we planted them in the south driveway sun garden. They've done amazingly every year. Never a disappointment.

20180528_122242.jpg

20180528_122237.jpg

All of these flowers have bloomed over the last month. The peonies have since finished and now the Asiatic Dayflowers are replacing them with their tiny, true blue flowers. The others are still going strong and soon I will have a BUNCH of lilies to share with you all. I planted like 3 bags of them two or three years ago. Each bag probably had between 6 and 10 bulbs. That is a lot of lilies, especially if you've never grown them before. Haha!

Thanks for stopping by! Hope you enjoyed the blooms!

Banner 2.jpg

Badges.jpg

Sort:  

Those are all quite gorgeous! You do have a green thumb! Tip!

Thanks so much, @melinda010100! I've been gardening since I was 16.

They are beautiful! Unfortunately, I don’t grow flowers. I grow things I can eat =)

I grow both! Most of my perennials were planted before I learned more about permaculture and planting things that have benefits to us.

That’s wonderful =) I’m looking forward to seeing more.

Ooh, I love that pink peony. I only have 2 white ones, though I certainly like them too!

I hope somebody knows what that first mystery flower is because I have the exact same thing, only in a brighter pink. I can attest that they are indestructible because they survived being in the front yard with the dogs, and multiplied like crazy despite being run over daily :) Mine are in full sun and seem to like it.

That's good to know! Mine are out of reach of the dogs and the kids don't usually play in that area of the yard. But if I move them that might change.

Hi @hethur240! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Photocollagecontest #10 Trees Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

I love the colors your yard must be so pretty 💗 all the blooms must bring u such a cheerful sight each day. Mahalo for sharing 🌸🌹🌼🌻🌷🌾

Lots of colors...and then there's the occasional pile of dog poo to step around. Haha! I do love seeing what's blooming though. Thanks, @aloha-creations!

Very pretty! My peonies aren't blooming yet. Mine are the color of your pink one. They belonged to my grandma.

That's really special and neat! I hope you post about them when they bloom. Thanks for stopping by, @nat-expressions!

I will do that. :)

I love lillies so much!!! They are probably my favorite flowers!!! I cant wait until i have a yard of my own and can grow some flowers again. Very pretty my @hethur240!!

When you do, wait until the bulbs go on clearance. You can really stock up! Love you, @sallyswitchblade!

First thing that came to mind on your mystery ones was purple loosestrife, followed by liatris. But you have so many different types where you are from here in New England, that I'm hesitant to say for sure...

I looked up both and it's really hard to tell for sure. I really need to ask my aunt about the one she gave me. Surely she'll remember....Haha!