Strange Succulent Garden Update 1

IMG_20200906_144255.jpg

My garden philosophy is as follows. If it's weird looking and affordable, I'm going to buy it. The photo above is an example of this. I couldn't tell you what kind of cactus this is but I can tell you I love it and it only costed me 70 pesos. This is one of my more expensive plants,but I couldn't resist.

IMG_20200906_144251.jpg

This will mark a sort of a turn towards back how I used to post with @lily-da-vine. Only more happiness this time, as I wake up no longer overwhelmed by my daily tasks but excited for them.

IMG_20200906_144301_1.jpg

This one I do know thanks to an intelligent lady in the neurodiverse plant lover's community on facebook. It's called moss rose purslane. I've grown this on and off for years never realizing it is a cousin to purslane which grows wild basically everywhere now. At least everywhere I've lived. Its a great crawling succulent and the flowers come in so many different colors.

IMG_20200906_144318.jpg

This started as a tiny 10 peso plant but over the last three or so months is starting to grow out of its pot. Its kinda fascinating how easy and fast these grow with enough water.

IMG_20200906_144304.jpg
This is my oldest lavender bush. I bought it in a city nearby and brought it home, it was hours in a taxi because I had never seen it for sale where I live. Within a week of that I start seeing plants for sale locally all over the place. I now have 3.

IMG_20200906_144259.jpg

Another 10 peso unidentified cacti that I love. If anyone knows what this is, please let me know in the comments. My goal is to have a huge collection of cacti and succulents and other strange plants. Perhaps I'll buy land, open a botanical garden and capitalize on it that way. I want everything, including peyote and San Pedro so I can make one big natural piece of art with them all.

IMG_20200906_144311.jpg

This one I've loved since college, known as string of pearls. I've always been so fascinated by the fact that it looks SO strange.

The hope is to make daily posts like this. Garden updates, crafting updates as well as posts with links to my recent work elsewhere.

Putting it simply, I've been busy. I'm finally starting to get myself in a place to think about sharing all these cool things I spend my days doing.

Sort:  

Your first cactus is some kind of echinopsis and the second is in the same genus, it's a peanut cactus (Echinopsis chamaecereus). Please feel free to come and post in the Succulent Growers community and meet fellow succulent fiends of Hive, we'd be happy to have you