You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Certified Organic: What's Behind the Label? Is It Good for Small Farms or Consumers? (DTube Daily Vlog)

in #gardening6 years ago

I feel you. I'm not a big fan of jumping through hoops either. That's the main reason I am not certified organic even though I use Beyond Organic practices. But if you're willing to jump through the Hoops I would say do it. It doesn't sound like it would be a financial burden because of the grant. Also because of the grant you wouldn't have to price out people simply because you have a certified organic stamp.

Sort:  

Good points. I think it is also an issue of whether we want to get enmeshed in the system to such a degree. It's still on the discussion board. The grant pays something like 75% of the fees, and we're not sure if the stamp would make all the big of a difference in some cases either. Hoops or no, we'll still uphold high standards on our homestead.