More Succulents

in #gardening5 years ago

Found this cute little self watering planter to 3d print. I think it turned out pretty good!

Cool right?!

Finally got all my baby leaves propagating in soil. Fingers crossed that they do their magic! 🤞😆

Some cacti!

That's some exotic aloe in the middle there. Sure is pretty!

The kids welcomed spring break by coming down with some cold bug that had simon in bed by 5pm last night. 😮

Today i'm trying to get them to take it easy, but the sun is shining and they wanna play. I guess they must not be all that sick. Lol.

That's all for now steem fam. Thanks for reading! ✌💜

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What kind of 3D printer did you use? I backed a Kickstarter for a consumer 3D printer and hope it pans out as I am excited for the prospect.

I want to start printing my daughter some toys among other things. Also, recently started gardening so can see myself doing stuff like this.

Posted using Partiko Android

We have a Toybox 3d printer.
It's plug and play and works pretty well for the money, but after using it for a while, I wish I had built my own instead. It costs about the same, a little less in some cases and the print beds are bigger on just about anything other than what I've got.

My main complaint with my printer is the bed isn't big enough. It can only do pretty miniature stuff. But it does work so I'm embracing it and making tiny things. 😁😆

Which printer did you back on kickstarter? There are some really good ones in the works from what I've seen.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that you were able to print a self-watering planter! Cool!
Are you really supposed to lay down the leaves like that? I thought you were supposed to stand them up in the dirt. But then I've not propogated succulents via cuttings before.

Right?!
The leaves, yes. Just one leaf will propagate itself by producing roots at the end of it until finally it gets more leaves and becomes a baby plant. To transplant a baby plant you stick the whole thing in the soil upright.

The leaves though are the coolest thing I've seen. Just sitting on moist soil for a month or so will prompt it to survive by making more leaves to get water faster. Nature is so badass. 😎😍

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

Congratulations @khackett! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That 3d printer sure is amazing!

Sending good vibes to the succulent babies xoxoxo You got this little dudes!